Business Writing Toolkit
Databases, Books & Journals
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a variety of industry reports including risk reports, industry summaries, market research, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competition data. Items can be viewed online or downloaded for offline use.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of many international sources. Access World News focuses on local and regional news from Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East. It covers a variety of local and international developments related to industry, politics, economics, science & technology, sports, culture and business.
The culture map : breaking through the invisible boundaries of global business by Call Number: EbookISBN: 1610399218Publication Date: 2014
Partnering for Organizational Performance by Call Number: HD69.S8 B756 2008ISBN: 9780742560130Publication Date: 2008-03-07
- Directory of foreign firms operating in the United StatesCollection HG4057 .A21943 1992 On Shelf Select Request Option:
You must be logged in to request
Location: ARC Click Request: General Collection Call Number: HG4057 .A21943 Description: 1992 Status: On Shelf Barcode: 31114019008251 Item Type: Bound Issue Item Status: 60 Days Copy Number: 69849
ARC Click Request: General Collection HG4057 .A21943 1995 8th On Shelf Select Request Option: - Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign CountriesLocation: ARC Click Request: General Collection
Call Number: HG4538 .A1 D5
Description: 18th: v.1 (2005)
Status: On Shelf
Barcode: 31114034648321
Item Type: Bound Issue
Item Status: 60 Days
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
- Journal of International Business StudiesJournal of International Business Studies is a top-ranked peer-reviewed journal in the field of international business; its goal is to publish insightful, innovative and impactful research on international business.
- International Business ReviewThe International Business Review (IBR) is a premier international journal in the discipline of international business, and the official journal of the European International Business Academy (EIBA).
Information on Conducting Business in Other Couintries
- CIA Wold FactbookFor each of the over 250 included countries, map and flag, geographic, population, government, economic, communication, transportation, military, and transnational issue information is provided. Updated periodically throughout the year
- Country Commercial GuidesA comprehensive look at country commercial environments with US. Click COUNTRIES AND AREAS to begin your search.
- GlobalEDGECreated by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University (MSU-CIBER). A web portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Includes: Global resources, country insights, news and latest issues in international business, research and teaching resources.
- Handbook of International Economic StatisticsReleased by the CIA. Provides statistics for comparing the economic performance of major countries and regions. Includes economic profiles, trends, energy, agriculture, foreign trade and aid, and real gross domestic product. It also includes a collection of maps and charts and tables.
- International Data CorporationInternational Data Corporation (IDC) is the premier global provider of market intelligence, advisory services, and events for the information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology markets.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesIncludes a brief historical treatment of countries.
- THE WORLD BANKFree and open access to global development data.
International Market Research
- Markets and Markets This link opens in a new windowProvides quantified B2B research on 30,000 high growth emerging opportunities/threats which will impact 70% to 80% of worldwide companies' revenues.
- Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
NOTE: The information from this database may only be used for academic and noncommercial purposes. Your use of the database constitutes acceptance of this restriction. Individual accounts expire every summer and will need to be renewed every year.
PitchBook allows you to search private equity and venture capital deals by various criteria. PitchBook also contains information on mergers and acquisitions. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals and gather information on investors. This database requires individuals to create a personal account which expires annually. Create your personal account while on campus using your uNID, for example, u0000000@utah.edu email address. The PitchBook database is only available to students, faculty, and staff at the University of Utah.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to licensed content from Dow Jones journalists, media outlets, trade and consumer publications and business Web sites. Factiva also contains in-depth company, executive and industry profiles, expert analysis, market data and other reports.
- China Data OnlineAll China Marketing Research LLC
- EurostatOur mission is to provide high-quality statistics and data on Europe.
- ITA International Trade AssociationTrade statistics resources from the International Trade Administration.
Information on Foreign Companies
- CervedFinancial information on five million Italian companies.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowNOTE: This database requires (free) user registration before use. Licensed for academic/research, non-commerical use only.
PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
- Mergent OnlineMost comprehensive database for both national and international company research. All financials "as reported." Providing unparalleled review of balance sheets, income statement, expenditures, assets, liabilities, cash flow, performance trends, and more. Offers industry reports and country profiles.
- The Corporate Information siteDelivering the Financial World to you. Up-to-Date Financial Information on over 46,000 companies worldwide
- US Federal Contractor RegistrationFind SAM Registrations, Federal Solicitations, Opportunities and Contracts
