College of Education: Library and Research Resources
This Education Subject Guide contains general library, information literacy and library research information for the College of Education. It also links to more specific information on College of Education departments.
Teacher Organizations & Resources
- Electronic High School -- Utahoffer
open-entry/open-exit classes for Utah at no cost to Utah students or schools. Students continue to work with their local school counselor to select the desired classes. Credit earned at EHS can be used for credit recovery, original credit and credit acceleration. - Center for Educational PolicyThe Center on Education Policy at Stanford University is a national, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools. The Center helps Americans better understand the role of public education in a democracy and the need to improve the academic quality of public schools. We do not represent any special interests. Instead, we try to help citizens make sense of the conflicting opinions and perceptions about public education and create the conditions that will lead to better public schools.
- National Education Policy CenterThe National Education Policy Center (NEPC) at the University of Colorado at Boulder School of Education sponsors research, produces policy briefs, and publishes expert third party reviews of think tank reports.
- Higher Education Research Institutehe mission of the Higher Education Research Institute is to inform educational policy and promote institutional improvement through an increased understanding of higher education and its impact on college students.
- Association for Contemplative Mind in Higher EducationThe ACMHE promotes the emergence of a broad culture of contemplation in the academy by connecting a network of leading institutions and academics committed to the recovery and development of the contemplative dimension of teaching, learning and knowing.
- Editorial Projects in Education Research Centerthe Research Center conducts annual policy surveys, collects data, and performs analyses that appear in the Quality Counts, Technology Counts, and Diplomas Count annual issues of Education Week. The Center also manages the Education Counts database of state policy indicators, releases periodic special reports on a variety of topics, and contributes data and analysis to coverage in Education Week, Teacher Magazine, and edweek.org.
- Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)On October 22, 2010, the boards of the National Council for Accreditation or Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) unanimously agreed to create a new accrediting organization to consolidate the work of TEAC and NCATE. The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) was designed by a 14-member Design Team, with equal representation from the two organizations.
- Kids Count Data CenterProvides Data by State and Data Across States
- Education IndexHelp others make more informed choices about education by submitting ratings & reviews for your school, university or college. Education Index also has up-to-date contact details for every educational institution in the country
- High Schools.comHigh-Schools.com is a resource that contains data on thousands of public and private high schools in the United States. We offer a extensive listing of high schools by city and state and school search tools. We list school data on each and every high school in the United States, including enrollment and student/teacher ratios, as well as school address and contact information.
- Elementary Schools.orgThousands of public elementary schools and private elementary schools throughout America are listed for your review. The list is broken down by city, elementary school districts, zip codes, or counties. The list also contains all public elementary schools and private elementary schools within the country. Statistics such as enrollment, the ratio of students to teachers are included as well as elementary school addresses, phone numbers, and other contact information.
- Teachers Resources, Library of CongressThe Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.
Additional Professional Organizations
In addition to scholarly resources and practical teaching materials, this section will provide local Utah professional organizations, supplementary Higher Educations resources and information on open education resources (OER).
- For research, partnerships and Clinics in the College of Education, visit the Research and Centers:
- Utah Education Policy Center
- Center for the Advancement of Technology in Education
- Pathways for American Indians Through Higher Education (PATHs)
- University Advisory Council for Teacher Education
- University Neighborhood Partners
- University of Utah Reading Clinic
- University of Utah Educational Assessment and Student Support Clinic
- The Office of Faculty Research & Support
- Education Policy Policy Center, focuses on high quality research on education policy. Read the following announcement: "With the demand for education research at its highest level in a generation but growing concern about the quality of such research, experts and researchers from across the United States today announced the establishment of the National Education Policy Center (NEPC). Housed in the School of Education at the University of Colorado at Boulder, NEPC (nepc.colorado.edu) stands at the forefront of efforts to bring the highest quality education policy research to bear on policymaking and public understanding of key schooling issues."
- American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education
- American Association of State Colleges and Universities
- American Association of University Professors
- American Council on Education
- American Educational Research Association
- American Federation of Teachers
- Association for Institutional Research
- Association of American Universities
- Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
- Cato Institute: Education and Child Policy
- Center for Creative Leadership
- Center on Educational Policy
- Consortium for Policy Research in Education
- Alliance for Excellence in Education
- Education Index helps others make more informed choices about education by submitting ratings & reviews for your school, university or college.
- Ed/ ITLib Digital Library for Information Technology and Education includes peer-reviewed papers and articles on the latest research, developments, and applications related to educational technology and e-learning.
- EPE Research Center is a division of Editorial Projects in Education, the non-profit organization that publishes Education Week. With a staff of full-time researchers, the Research Center conducts annual policy surveys, collects data, and performs analysis that appear in the Quality Counts, Technology Counts, and Diplomas Count annual issues of Education Week. The Center also manages the Education Counts database of state policy indicators, releases periodic special reports on a variety of topics, and contributes data and analysis to coverage in Education Week, Teacher Magazine, and edweek.org.
- Higher Education Research Institute
- Institute for Higher Education Policy
- NASPA - Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education
- National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education
- National Education Association
- The National Teacher Accreditation Council boards voted unanimously to create a new accrediting body, Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation, CAEP
- National Council on Teacher Quality (NCTQ) is a nonpartisan research and advocacy group committed to restructuring the teaching profession, led by our vision that every child deserves effective teachers.
- New Teachers Project
- Policy Archive -- Education
- Sloan Consortium is an institutional and professional leadership organization dedicated to integrating online education into the mainstream of higher education, helping institutions and individual educators improve the quality, scale, and breadth of education. Membership in the Sloan Consortium provides knowledge, practice, community, and direction for educators. Originally funded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, Sloan-C is now a non-profit, member sustained organization
- Stanford Cubberley Education Library
- The University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA) The University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA) is an international consortium of prestigious research universities committed to advancing the preparation and practice of educational leaders for the benefit of children, schools and society. UCEA, as a consortium, symbolizes an important aspiration--advancing significantly the field of educational leadership through inter-institutional cooperation, communication, and contribution. Graduate Student Development: UCEA supports a number of programs and activities focused on the development of graduate students, from curriculum and program development initiatives to workshops for graduate students on publishing. During the UCEA convention, approximately 5 seminars are dedicated to graduate student development.
- Wallce Foundation Knowledge Center - Education Leadership
- University of Utah Office of Budget and Institutional Analysis
- Utah State Office of Education
- Virtual Salt Education Related Web Sites
- For more information on scholarly societies, check the Scholarly Societies Project. There is a section listing education societies.
Other Organizations
