ULibraries Research Guides: Materials Science and Engineering: Find Articles

MSE Starting Points

Scopus
Scopus is a large, abstract and citation database that is updated daily and offers access to 100+ million records including journal articles, conference papers, open access items, books, and book chapters. Scopus covers various subject disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Web of Science Core Collection
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Book Citation Indexes (2005-current), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-current, supports structure searches), Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990-current), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-current), and Index Chemicus (1993-current).
For published authors of monographs, please submit your request to be added to Web of Science.
IEL Online/IEEE Xplore
This database provides full-text access to journals, conference proceedings, and standards. Covers journals, transactions, letters, and magazines published by the IEEE, with select content dating back to 1884. Covers content from other journal publishers dating back to 1930. Covers conference proceedings dating back to 1988; IEEE standards dating back from 1948.
Dimensions
Digital Science's Dimensions Plus and Analytics is a linked research database, including information on publications, awarded grants, patents, clinical trials, and policy documents—on a global scale. This ability to locate and analyze data across sources within one platform makes Dimensions a powerful tool to gain insight into activity in your research area or institution and view trends over time. In order to access Dimensions, users must create an account using their utah.edu email address.
Scite
Scite is a platform for discovering and evaluating scientific articles via Smart Citations. Smart Citations allow users to see how a publication has been cited by providing the context of the citation and a classification describing whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence for the cited claim. Includes an AI Research Assistant.
Material ConneXion
This database provides access to information about more than 7,000 materials and design processes in a variety of fields of design, with information on over 40 new materials added to the library every month.

Please note that information from this database may only be used for personal and noncommercial purposes. Your use of the database constitutes acceptance of this restriction.
Materials Science and Engineering Collection
This database covers metals and alloys, including details on their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. The collection contains almost 1.5 million references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index. Major areas of coverage include steel, strength, refining, casting, coatings, heat treatment, metal matrix composites, nonferrous metals, corrosion, extracting, smelting, blast furnaces, machining, welding, testing, analysis…

This database covers metals and alloys, including details on their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. The collection contains almost 1.5 million references and is the database equivalent of Metals Abstracts, Metals Abstracts Index, and Alloys Index. Major areas of coverage include steel, strength, refining, casting, coatings, heat treatment, metal matrix composites, nonferrous metals, corrosion, extracting, smelting, blast furnaces, machining, welding, testing, analysis, environmental issues, and safety issues. The database is updated once a month, with approximately 45,000 new records added per year. There are nearly 8 million records in the collection in total, drawn from over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl
The Science of Synthesis Database is structure, reaction, text, and field searchable and provides access to the full Science of Synthesis series, including the Houben-Weyl Archive, published from 1909 to-date. Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl is the largest collection of evaluated and vetted methods of organic, organometallic, and medicinal synthesis in the world.

Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl is one of the most important reference works in chemistry. Houben-Weyl consisted initially of two volumes and covering literature in organic and medicinal chemistry published from 1834 through 1911. It was extended by several editions until 1990. Then supplementary volumes were published through 1999. Taken together the Houben-Weyl editions and supplements include 160,000 pages in 160 volumes with 580,000 chemical structures, 146,000 experimental methods and 700,000 references. From 2000 to 2010, a new English edition was published with the title Science of Synthesis comprised of 48 volumes. Science of Synthesis is constantly updated and contains nearly 30,000 new procedures and methods, nearly 200,000 reactions and over 800,000 chemical structures. Today, Science of Synthesis / Houben-Weyl is the largest collection of evaluated and vetted methods of organic, organometallic, and medicinal synthesis in the world. Science of Synthesis and Houben-Weyl, can be viewed as a set of review articles, written by experts who summarize the literature and who document standard experimental techniques and chemical transformations. The entire resource contains more than 1.2 million references.

Other Databases

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database
Proquest's Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
BCC Research
Academic institutions around the globe subscribe to BCC Research to utilize the vast library of market research reports that aid students, professors, and technology transfer professionals in conducting research projects. Students appreciate the depth and specificity of BCC Research reports, finding it easy to uncover all of the data they need, from growth trends and market opportunities to geographic breakdowns and company profiles.
Business Source Premier
Includes the full text for more than 2,300 journals. Full-text results are provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. This database covers many business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Compendex Archive
Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. Since 2013, our subscription to Compendex is limited to archive-only access (1884-1969). Access to current information in Compendex may be available through Dimensions, Scopus, and/or Web of Science.
Factiva
This database provides access to licensed content from Dow Jones journalists, media outlets, trade and consumer publications and business Web sites. Factiva also contains in-depth company, executive and industry profiles, expert analysis, market data and other reports.
GeoRef
"The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by about 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 4.4 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1666 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present."
Inspec Archive
Coverage (1898 - 1968). Access to current information in Inspec may be available through Dimensions, IEEE Xplore, Scopus, and/or Web of Science.
Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains nearly 1 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings.
Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals & Ebooks
This listing provides access to all of the journal and ebook content the Marriott Library subscribes to through the Institute of Physics (IOP). Many details such as subject coverage, coverage dates, and update frequency vary by title, but are provided where applicable. Ebook access to over 1,000 IOP ebook titles.
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Mobilus
The SAE MOBILUS platform includes over 200,000 resources covering a wide range of technologies surrounding the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries. Coverage includes Technical Papers (1998-current), Journals (2008-current), Standards (current),and four magazines.
SciFinder
NOTE: You must register for a user account to use this database - note that for registration you must use your University of Utah email.

This database is licensed for use only by U of U faculty, students and staff conducting scholarly research. It is not to be used for commercial research. SciFinder provides access to the substance information and chemical literature in CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. Currently the database includes over 16 million journal articles, patents and other documents and more than 24 million substance records in the CAS Chemical Registry database. Please contact CAS at 1-800-753-4227 or Shane Wallace email shane.wallace@utah.edu with any questions regarding registration or access.
TRID
TRID provides access to a variety of bibliographic data related to transportation research. The database is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the US National Academies and contains over 900,000 research records, over 64,000 of which link to full-text articles. Subjects covered by TRID include Highways, Transit, Railroads, Maritime, Aviation, Pipelines, Pedestrian, Bicycles, Planning, Construction, Design, Safety, Environmental Issues, and more.

Request Research Help

In-depth research consultations are available to University of Utah students, staff, faculty, and community patrons for assistance with a specific research assignment, topic, or thesis.

Research Consultations
Visit the Marriott Library's webpage for more information on Research Consultations.

Whenever possible, requests will be responded to within two business days by librarians who will then schedule an appointment with you.

Connect from off-campus

a laptop sitting open on a rock in the woods.

Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.

Click here:

Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar

OR Download and install VPN software on your machine.

Interlibrary Loan

Get library materials from other libraries for free!

Items not found at University of Utah libraries will be requested from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). In most instances books are available within 1 to 2 weeks and electronic access to articles can be provided within 24-48 hours.

Submit an interlibrary loan request

Learn how to submit an interlibrary loan request