Materials Science & Engineering

Callister and Rethwisch's Fundamentals of Materials Science and Engineering third edition continues to take the integrated approach to the organization of topics.  That is, one specific structure, characteristic, or property type at a time is discussed for all three basic material types-viz. metals, ceramics, and polymeric materials.  This order of presentation allows for the early introduction of non-metals and supports the engineer's role in choosing materials based upon their characteristics.

The new edition is reorganized into three major sections to align the book for practical coursework, with the first (Thermodynamic Principles) and second (Phase Equilibria) sections aimed at use in a one semester undergraduate course. The third section (Reactions and Transformations) can be used in other courses of the curriculum that deal with oxidation, energy, and phase transformations. The book is updated to include the role of work terms other than PV work (e.g., magnetic work) along with their attendant aspects of entropy, Maxwell equations, and the role of such applied fields on phase diagrams. There is also an increased emphasis on the thermodynamics of phase transformations and the Sixth Edition features an entirely new chapter 15 that links specific thermodynamic applications to the study of phase transformations. The book also features more than 50 new end of chapter problems and more than 50 new figures.

For undergraduate Mechanics of Materials courses in Mechanical, Civil, and Aerospace Engineering departments. Thorough coverage, a highly visual presentation, and increased problem solving from an author you trust. Mechanics of Materials clearly and thoroughly presents the theory and supports the application of essential mechanics of materials principles. Professor Hibbeler's concise writing style, countless examples, and stunning four-color photorealistic art program -- all shaped by the comments and suggestions of hundreds of reviewers -- help readers visualize and master difficult concepts.

Principles of Electronic Materials and Devices is one of the few books in the market that has a broad coverage of electronic materials that today's scientists and engineers need. The general treatment of the textbook and various proofs leverage at a semi quantitative level without going into detailed physics.

The ASM Handbook is a comprehensive guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. Written and reviewed by experts, the volumes in the series provide trusted and in-depth articles, illustrations, graphs, tables, and practical examples on key topics related to the engineering applications of materials.

Exceptionally well-received and one of the most acclaimed university-level books on construction, Building Construction, Principles, Materials and Systems is a comprehensive and fully illustrated introduction to construction methods and materials. It's informed by a core philosophy that sufficient grounding in the principles and science of construction is the best way to equip today's designers and constructors to respond successfully to rapid changes in the built environment. The Third Edition incorporates the latest updates available, features over one thousand new end-of-chapter problems, and now addresses common errors related to the topic. The organization of the text fosters a definitive understanding of general concepts before moving on to more complex concepts. Emphasizing a visual approach to learning, it includes original illustrations.

Computational Materials Engineering is an advanced introduction to the computer-aided modeling of essential material properties and behavior, including the physical, thermal and chemical parameters, as well as the mathematical tools used to perform simulations. Its emphasis will be on crystalline materials, which includes all metals. The basis of Computational Materials Engineering allows scientists and engineers to create virtual simulations of material behavior and properties, to better understand how a particular material works and performs and then use that knowledge to design improvements for particular material applications.

This tutorial text presents both the usual and unusual electromagnetic properties of materials, focusing especially man-made or engineered metamaterials. After a review of Maxwell's equations and material properties, the idea of resonant meta-atoms and composite media are introduced. The fabrication of metamaterials and the properties of negative index materials are explained. The difficulties associated with reducing the size of meta-atoms for use at optical frequencies are described, and the use of metamaterials for superresolution imaging is presented in some detail.

More often than not, it is difficult or even impossible to obtain directly the specific rock parameters of interest using in situ methods. The procedures for measuring most rock properties are also time consuming and expensive. Engineering Properties of Rocks, Second Edition,　explores the use of typical values and/or empirical correlations of similar rocks to determine the specific parameters needed. The book is based on the author's extensive experience and offers a single source of information for the evaluation of rock properties. It systematically describes the classification and characterization of intact rock, rock discontinuities, and rock masses, and presents the various indirect methods for estimating the deformability, strength, and permeability of these components as well as the in situ rock stresses.

Since 1936, Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals has been the bestselling reference covering the general principles of engineering; today, it's more relevant than ever.With chapters on mathematical principles, physical units and standards as well as the fundamentals of mechanical, aerospace, electrical, chemical, and industrial engineering, this classic reference is more relevant than ever to both practicing engineers and students studying for the FE and PE exams.

As electromagnetics, photonics, and materials science evolve, it is increasingly important for students and practitioners in the physical sciences and engineering to understand vector calculus and tensor analysis. This book provides a review of vector calculus. This review includes necessary excursions into tensor analysis intended as the reader's first exposure to tensors, making aspects of tensors understandable to advanced undergraduate students. This book will also prepare the reader for more advanced studies in vector calculus and tensor analysis.

An authoritative guide to key engineering management principles and practices, this book is divided into eight concise domains of engineering management knowledge, which are further broken down into 46 knowledge areas and 210 sub-knowledge areas. This guide covers a wide range of management topics and practices, including market research, product development, organizational leadership and the management of engineering projects and processes. A diverse panel of practicing engineers and subject matter experts from across industry, government and academia, formed a committee of professionals to develop a readable, comprehensive, user-friendly body of knowledge guide. Whether you're a practicing engineer, an engineering manager, or a trainer of engineers, you'll find this easy-to-use guide an indispensable resource.

This handbook describes effective methods for the control of mineral dusts in mines and tunnels. It assumes the reader is familiar with mining. The first chapter deals solely with dust control methods, regardless of the application. It is a brief tutorial on mining dust control and will be of help to the reader whose dust control problem does not conveniently fit any of the mining equipment niches described in later chapters.

The Handbook of Air Pollution Prevention and Control provides a concise overview of the latest technologies for managing industrial air pollution in petrochemical, oil and gas, and allied industries. Detailed material on equipment selection, sizing, and troubleshooting operations is provided along with practical design methodology.

Sustainable polymers play an indispensable role in the emergence of green materials, and the 21st century is an era of sustainable polymeric materials. Sustainable polymer-based materials have attracted considerable interest because of the energy crisis and ecological concerns as well as the potential to substitute certain petroleum-derived materials. This book covers the fundamentals of sustainable polymers and presents guidelines in a logical and clear manner for students and researchers to follow. It is a milestone that will help accelerate the progress and advancement in the field of sustainable polymers. The text explores the structure and chemistry of various sustainable polymers, such as cellulose, hemicellulose, lignin, chitosan, starch, guar gum, pectin, and protein, for the possible development of green sustainable materials.

Focus in this book is placed on systems engineering and systems management for building systems of all types. The role of these systems to produce high reliability, and quality services and products is stressed. The role of advanced information technologies in enhancing productivity and quality is also discussed.

A reference book for the mechanical engineer, draftsman, toolmaker and machinist.

This Bureau of Mines publication presents a comprehensive review of mine electrical power-system theory and practice. It discusses fundamental theory and the vital aspects to be considered in planning and designing mine electrical power systems. The report is divided into three major sections. The first presents the history of electricity in mining and the fundamentals of electrical phenomena and components. The second focuses on power-system components: motors, grounding systems, cables, and protective equipment and devices. The final section includes mine power-center equipment, switchhouses and substations, batteries, and mine maintenance.

This revised edition presents an engineering design approach to ventilation and air conditioning as part of the comprehensive environmental control of the mine atmosphere. It provides an in-depth look, for practitioners who design and operate mines, into the health and safety aspects of environmental conditions in the underground workplace.

This title features 11 new chapters unique to this edition, including chapters on grain boundaries in graphene, 2D metal carbides and carbonitrides, mechanics of carbon nanotubes and nanomaterials, biomedical applications, oxidation and purification of carbon nanostructures, sintering of nanoceramics, hydrothermal processing, nanofibers, and nanomaterials safety. It offers a comprehensive approach with a focus on inorganic and carbon-based nanomaterials, including fundamentals, applications, synthesis, and characterization. This book also provides a unique angle from the nanomaterial point of view on application, synthesis, and characterization not found in any other nanomaterials book on the market.

Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. This fully updated edition covers: Unit Conversion Factors and Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data including Prediction and Correlation of Physical Properties * Mathematics including Differential and Integral Calculus, Statistics, Optimization * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics *Reaction Kinetics * Process Control and Instrumentation* Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Operations and Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment * Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment *Chemical Reactors * Bio-based Reactions and Processing * Waste Management including Air, Wastewater and Solid Waste Management* Process Safety including Inherently Safer Design * Energy Resources, Conversion and Utilization* Materials of Construction

"Physical Metallurgy and Advanced Materials" is the latest edition of the classic book previously published as "Modern Physical Metallurgy & Materials Engineering." Fully revised and expanded, this new edition develops on its predecessor by including detailed coverage of the latest topics in metallurgy and material science. Intended for senior undergraduates and graduate students it emphases the science, production and applications of engineering materials, and is suitable for all post-introductory materials science courses.

The Practical Pumping Handbook is a practical account of pumping, piping and seals starting with basics and providing detailed but accessible information on all aspects of the pumping process and what can go wrong with it. Written by an acknowledged expert with years of teaching experience in the practical understanding of pumps and systems.

This third edition of the SME Mining Engineering Handbook reaffirms its international reputation as "the handbook of choice" for today's practicing mining engineer. It distills the body of knowledge that characterizes mining engineering as a disciplinary field and has subsequently helped to inspire and inform generations of mining professionals.

Engineers are often called on to answer technical questions and solve problems while in the field. It's not always feasible to bring along the bulky reference materials needed to research engineering-related topics. Now there's a simple solution. The SME Mining Reference Handbook is a practical field reference for mining and minerals engineers who spend time away from the office. With its comprehensive store of charts, graphs, tables, equations, and rules of thumb, the handbook is the essential technical reference for mobile mining professionals.

Find at the call number above or online.

Accordingly, the Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering devotes its contents to all areas of interest for the practicing engineer as well as for the student at various levels and educational institutions. Authors from all over the world have contributed with their expertise and support the globally working engineer in finding a solution for today‘s mechanical engineering problems.

Summarizes information on wood as an engineering material. Presents properties of wood and wood-based products
of particular concern to the architect and engineer. Includes
discussion of designing with wood and wood-based products along with some pertinent uses.

Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * Pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format

Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * A pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find form

The principal scope of the present multilingual dictionary is not only to enhance the knowledge of the subject but also to intensify and multiply those human contacts without which progress would be hindered or at least slowed down. The reader will find accurate and precise translations and an explanation of the majority of terms through brief definitions.

"The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level-from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government-learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research."

Insightful, wide-ranging and accessible, this is an invaluable tool for postgraduate research students and for students at all levels working on research projects, irrespective of their field of study.

"Surviving Your Dissertation: A Comprehensive Guide to Content and Process, Third Edition offers readers guidance that other dissertation guides often miss, from ways to improve one's writing, to identifying one's learning preferences, to dealing with emotional blocks."

Now in its 6th edition, this bestselling professional reference has helped over 100,000 engineers and scientists with the success of their experiments. Douglas Montgomery arms readers with the most effective approach for learning how to design, conduct, and analyze experiments that optimize performance in products and processes. He shows how to use statistically designed experiments to obtain information for characterization and optimization of systems, improve manufacturing processes, and design and develop new processes and products. You will also learn how to evaluate material alternatives in product design, improve the field performance, reliability, and manufacturing aspects of products, and conduct experiments effectively and efficiently. Discover how to improve the quality and efficiency of working systems with this highly-acclaimed book. This 6th Edition: Places a strong focus on the use of the computer, providing output from two software products: Minitab and DesignExpert. Presents timely, new examples as well as expanded coverage on adding runs to a fractional factorial to de-alias effects. Includes detailed discussions on how computers are currently used in the analysis and design of experiments. Offers new material on a number of important topics, including follow-up experimentation and split-plot design. Focuses even more sharply on factorial and fractional factorial design.

Practical Research: Planning and Design is a do-it-yourself, understand-it-yourself manual for planning and conducting research. Suitable for a wide variety of courses in basic research methodology, the text guides the reader, step-by-step, from the selection of a problem, through the process of conducting authentic research, to the preparation of a completed report, with practical suggestions throughout. The authors emphasize the idea that quality research demands planning and design, and they provide what is needed for readers to be able to execute their own research projects effectively and professionally.

The current, thoroughly revised and updated edition of this approved title, evaluates information sources in the field of technology. It provides the reader not only with information of primary and secondary sources, but also analyses the details of information from all the important technical fields.

This new edition of the best-selling book offers graduate students in education and the social sciences a road map to developing and writing an effective literature review for a research project, thesis, or dissertation. Organized around a proven six-step model and incorporating technology into all of the steps, the book provides examples, strategies, and exercises that take students step by step through the entire process: Selecting a topic Searching the literature Developing arguments Surveying the literature Critiquing the literature Writing the literature review The second edition includes key vocabulary words, technology advice, and additional tips on when and how to write during the early stages--including the use of journals and memoranda--to make the literature review process a success.