ULibraries Research Guides: Atmospheric Sciences: Databases for Atmospheric Science Research

Atmospheric Science Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.
govinfo (formerly known as FDsys) This link opens in a new window
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.

govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides detailed information on current environmental issues and processes from both a scientific and a social standpoint suitable for high school, undergrad, and graduate students. Reference works, case studies, multimedia materials, newspapers, and magazines provide a wide range of content to support all learners.
An electronic resource offering authoritative reference content in the area of the environment, energy and natural resources, GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources). From global warming, to food safety, to access to health care, to the impact of economic development on international relations, today's important environmental issues are shaping the future and reach far beyond the United States. Additionally, as green collar jobs are poised for growth, municipalities strive to be environmentally friendly, and corporations develop green working environments, this resource becomes invaluable. GREENR focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Both interactive and current, GREENR allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in highly accessible, visually appealing research areas, covering relevant categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, economic development.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a collection of digital content from academic and research libraries. HathiTrust contains over 18+ million books in over 400 languages going back more than 1500 years.
HathiTrust provides “computational access to the entire corpus” as well as “accessible text requests.” Our membership provides additional features in HathiTrust.
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) This link opens in a new window
This database includes records drawn from literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences.
This database includes records drawn from literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Also included are indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature for selected records. Topics covered by the database include air pollution, astrophysics, atmospheric disturbances, atmospheric structure, climatology, geomagnetism, glaciology, meteorological observations, physical oceanography, radiation, temperature, weather forecasting, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
Osti.gov This link opens in a new window
From the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options; and for the DOE community, additional citation information is available to help researchers evaluate article impact and find related research.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Book Citation Indexes (2005-current), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-current, supports structure searches), Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990-current), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-current), and Index Chemicus (1993-current).
For published authors of monographs, please submit your request to be added to Web of Science.

Additional Atmospheric Science Databases and Resources

American Meterological Society Homepage - Contains links to news, career related links, journals, publications and also a student page that continas great resources to travel grant information, fellowships, etc.

American Meterological Society Journal List - (1945 - present). You can read and search the full text of AMS journals online. AMS has done what few other scientific professional organizations and publishers have ... digitized its entire backrun.

Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene - Is a new open-access scientific journal, that will publish original research reporting on new knowledge of the Earth’s physical, chemical, and biological systems; interactions between human and natural systemsfocusing on global change. Research will be organized initially into six knowledge domains (Atmospheric Sciences, Earth & Environmental Science, Ecology, Ocen Science, Sustainable Engineering and Sustainability Sciences) embracing the concept that basic knowledge can foster sustainable solutions for society

Browsing meteorology books
Many atmospheric science books have the call numbers QC 851 - QC 999 and can be found on Level 1 of the Library (map)
Books can only sit on one shelf, even though they often cover several topics. Print documents from the U.S. federal government are arranged by agency and are in the ARC; print journals are in the ARC. Some formats, like maps or microforms, need special shelving and are housed separately on either Levels 1 or 2. Electronic resources don’t sit on any shelf at all. All this means it is prudent to use our catalog -- USearch -- and online indexes and databases. The serendipitous finds when browsing the stacks of a large research library can be rewarding, but it is not an efficient way to do research.

Allyson Roylance

Annika Deutsch

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
295 South 1500 East #2110
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860

Subjects: Atmospheric Sciences, Environmental Studies, Geology & Geophysics, Materials Science & Engineering, Mathematics, Metallurigical Engineering, Mining Engineering