Atmospheric Sciences
Using this Guide
This guide contains information about frequently used library resources and services. Its primary is to host boxes that are used regularly on other pages. Feel free to copy these boxes into other guide; if updates are needed, we can update this box and have it automatically update on all the guides where the box is mapped.
What Your Librarian Can Do for You
Contact your subject specialist librarian or the library today! Your librarian can provide:
- Subject expertise in their discipline
- One-on-one library research assistance
- Group project assistance
- In-class visits
- Discipline-specific subject guides (like this one!)
- Help purchasing electronic or print materials
- Library tours
- Assistance with interlibrary loan and course reserve
- So much more!
Useful Links
Listed below are links to commonly used pages from the library's website.
- Using the Library CatalogCheck out this guide for information about how to use the University of Utah Usearch catalog effectively
- Borrowing MaterialsYou can check out, renew, or recall an item that someone else has.
- Connect from Off-CampusMost library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.
- Library MapsLibrary maps will help you find services and resources in the Marriott Library.
- Course ReservesMaterials that your professors want you to read but not necessarily purchase are available on Course Reserves.
- Interlibrary LoanFree service! Items not found at the Marriott Library will be requested from another library through Interlibrary Loan.
- Copy, Print, & ScanHow and where to print in the library. You can even print posters!
- Wireless PrintingPrint straight from your laptop!
Contact the Business & Innovation Team!
Need help with a business question? Please email mlib-business@lists.utah.edu for support!
Service Desks
Welcome to the Marriott Library. We are here to help. Service Desks are located on all five levels of the Marriott Library. The best place to get both research and technology assistance is the Knowledge Commons on Level 2.
Level 1 includes:
The Library Information Desk just inside the West Entrance and to the left
- Checkout / Return (circulation)
- Technology & Equipment Hold Pickup
- Cashier / Library Store
- Lost & Found
- Public Computer Guest Passes Issuance
- Staffed by Library Operations & Protection Services
Level 2 includes
The Knowledge Commons desk in the Knowledge Commons
- Computer and technology support
- Technology equipment checkout
- Research assistance
- Classroom support
- Group study room support
- Poster printing
- Printing support and payment
Level 3 includes
The Library Information Desk inside the East Entrance
- Checkout / Return (circulation)
- Cashier / Library Store
- Staffed by Library Operations & Protection Services
The Special Collections desk across the atrium on the west side of the building
- Special Collections reference service
- Special Collections holds and requests
The Administration desk inside the glass doors next to the elevators
Need help? Contact us
Request Research Help
In-depth research consultations are available to University of Utah students, staff, faculty, and community patrons for assistance with a specific research assignment, topic, or thesis.
- Research ConsultationsVisit the Marriott Library's webpage for more information on Research Consultations.
Whenever possible, requests will be responded to within two business days by librarians who will then schedule an appointment with you.
