- University of Utah
- ULibraries Research Guides
- * Marriott Library Research Guides
- Business Writing 3016
- Industry Ratios & Industry Classification
Business Writing 3016
Connect from off-campus
Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.
Click here:
Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar
OR Download and install VPN software on your machine.
Need help? Contact us
Industry Resources First Steps
This page will provide you with a variety of government and paid resources designed to help you find more information about industries and companies that interest you.
First, start with:
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text for more than 2,300 journals. Full-text results are provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. This database covers many business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
to get your initial overview of the industry and a SWOT analysis.
Next, take a look at:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a variety of industry reports including risk reports, industry summaries, market research, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competition data. Items can be viewed online or downloaded for offline use.
to look at the comparative landscape of the company that interests you, specifically the company's market share and market shares of its competitors.
Next, take a look at:
specifically the industry survey, for complete industry information. Then, use the same database to view company stock reports for the company's current status, as well as 3-5 year predictions.
Industry Analysis Resources
- Mergent Investor EdgeMergent InvestorEdge provides a powerful business research tool to access Ford Equity research reports, company business descriptions, documents, financial data and equity pricing for over 4000 companies.
- US Trade OutlookGet the latest annual and quarterly trade data with TradeStats Express.™
Retrieve, visualize, analyze, print and download your customized output.
- Value Line This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to documents and financial information for a variety of companies.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text for more than 2,300 journals. Full-text results are provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. This database covers many business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowThis database contains a variety of industry reports including risk reports, industry summaries, market research, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competition data. Items can be viewed online or downloaded for offline use.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowThis database contains searchable data for more than 10,000 companies on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges. All financials are provided as reported and include information on balance sheets, income statements, expenditures, assets, liabilities, cash flow, performance trends, and more.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect is a collection of worldwide business information.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis with an intuitive interface that offers discovery across all content types.
Subject Guide
Salt Lake City, UT,84112
