- University of Utah
- ULibraries Research Guides
- * Marriott Library Research Guides
- Business Writing 3016
- Style and Citation Manuals
Business Writing 3016
This guide will help students use both library and web resources to find company and industry information. Additionally, the resources listed in this guide will help students complete a final project on analyzing a specific company.
Citation Managers
There are four common citation managers: EndNote, NoodleTools, Zotero and Mendeley
EndNote, EndNote Basic, and Zotero are bibliographic management programs that help you manage, store, and organize references.
EndNote remains the favored, time-saving solution for organizing references and creating instant bibliographies.
- Significant learning curve
- If you are a scholar or aspiring scholar you should invest the time now in order to save time and headaches later
- You may purchase Endnote X.7 from the Office of Software Licensing (You may want to use both EndNote and EndNote Basic)
- See EndNote Desktop guide
EndNote Basic (formerly known as EndNote Web) is free for U of U students, staff, and faculty.
- Easier to use
- Undergraduate student focus
- See EndNote Basic guide
NoodleTools is free for U of U students, staff, and faculty.
- Easy to Use
- Undergraduate student focus
- Self-guided tool that teaches how to properly document sources in MLA, APA or Chicago/Turabian
- Produces a fully formatted Works Cited/References page
- See NoodleTools User Guide
- Freely available
- Easy to import citations from Usearch, many library databases, and many websites
- Can import dozens of citations at a time from Google Scholar
- Compatible with EndNote Basic and Mendeley
- See Zotero guide
- Freely available
- Can import citations from many library databases and webpages
- Can share citations through groups feature
- See Mendeley guide
MLA Style Resources
From Purdue Online Writing Lab:
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
In MLA, your citations will be in text in parentheses, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called Works Cited.
MLA Handbook by Call Number: LB 2369. M52ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books,...
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).
- MLA Style CenterA website containing writing resources from the Modern Language Association, including templates, formatting guides, and more.
APA Style Resources
From Purdue Online Writing Lab:
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences.
In APA, your citations will be in text in parentheses, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called References.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2020
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 1433805618Publication Date: 2010Find a hard copy of the APA Publication Manual 6th Edition in the library! Not only does this include how to cite sources, but it is also a guide for writing in the APA style. Note that there are several copies across campus.
- APA Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).
- APA Guidelines from The Little Seagull HandbookAmerican Psychological Association (APA) style calls for (1) brief documentation in parentheses near each in-text citation and (2) complete documentation in a list of references at the end of your text.
- APA Reference Styleby Prof. Mike Strahan from Northern Michigan University
- APA Style WebsiteResources created by APA for using the APA style. Includes the APA Style Blog with interesting posts such as how to cite Instagram.
Chicago Style Resources
From Purdue Online Writing Lab:
CMOS (Chicago Manual of Style) is most commonly used to cite sources within history and the arts.
Chicago has two main options for citations and bibliography: Author Date and Notes Bibliography. In Author Date style, your citations will be in text in parentheses, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called References. In Notes Bibliography style, your citations will either be footnotes or endnotes, and your bibliography will be at the end on a page called Bibliography.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05Find a hard copy of the Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition in the library! Not only does this include how to cite sources, but it is also a guide for writing in the Chicago style.
- Chicago Manual of Style
Online version of the 17th and 16th editions - Chicago Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Style Guides
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.3 P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2020
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2013ISBN: 9780226816371Publication Date: 2013
The Associated Press Stylebook 2022-2024 by
Master the style guidelines of news writing, editing, and common usage with this indispensable guide perfect for students and professional writers everywhere. The style of The Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. With the AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which their writers and editors are famous. The AP Stylebook will help you master the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, word and numeral usage, and when to use "more than" instead of "over." To make navigating these specialty chapters even easier, the Stylebook includes a comprehensive index. Fully revised and updated to keep pace with world events, common usage, and AP procedures, the AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors and students cannot afford to be without. This edition contains more than 300 new and revised entries, including: - A new chapter on inclusive storytelling: its importance and how to achieve it. - Detailed guidance on writing about people with disabilities and disabled people. - Many updates on immigration, the coronavirus, gender and race-related coverage, including the capitalization of Black and expanded use of singular they. - A revised chapter on religion, with guidance on when Catholic rather than Roman Catholic should be used on first reference. - A thoroughly updated chapter on using social media for reporting.
Call Number: PN4783 .A83 2022ISBN: 9781541601659Publication Date: 2022- The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017
Subject Guide
Lorelei Rutledge
they/them
Contact:
295 S. 1500 E., #2110N
Salt Lake City, UT,84112
Salt Lake City, UT,84112
mlib-business@lists.utah.edu
Subjects: Accessibility, Accounting, Bibliometrics, Business, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Entrepreneurship & Strategy, Gender Studies, Grants, Impact Factor, Information Systems, LEAP, Library Staff Guides, Management, Marketing, MBA Resources, Operations & Information Systems, Social Sciences, Test Preparation
Need help? Contact us
Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
