Moving Image & Sound Archive: Utah Independent Film Archive
For more information about the Moving Image & Sound Archive or access to our collections, please don't hesitate to contact us directly or fill out the Special Collections Feedback Form.
Molly Rose Steed, Asst. Head, Moving Image & Sound Archivist: firstname.lastname@example.org
Rebecca Roper, Moving Image & Sound Digital Archivist: email@example.com
Subject Guides Index
Subject guides are constantly being added and updated.
More Coming Soon!
Utah Independent Film Archive
The Utah Independent Film Archive is a repository dedicated to the preservation of film and video art pertaining to Utah. The films in the archive are made by Utah natives, are about Utah, or were produced in Utah. The pieces in this archive represent a broad spectrum of interests and genres, from documentaries to experimental pieces to narratives. Visit the UIFA home page or libguide for more information.
Independent Film Collections
A0047 Kevin Don Hanson
1980s - Films from current Film & Media Arts department chair Kevin Hanson, including "Nuture" (1984), a short film made while Hanson was a student at the University of Utah, and extensive footage of Ballet West productions filmed by Hanson.
A0048 Carnival of Souls
1962 - DVD copy of the horror classic filmed larvely in Salt Lake City by Kansas based filmmaker Herk Harvey. The old Saltair resort (pre-fire) is featured as the location of the title carnival.
A0320 Alton Morton
1940s-1960s - Digital copies of narrative and river running films made by Morton, a local mail carrier, Utah Cine Arts Club co-founder and Fellow of the Amateur Cinema League. The collection also includes tourism and promotional films made to promote Soutern Utah destinations. The nationally decorade film Adventure on the Colorado (1947) features the centennial Days of '47 parade. The original films are held by the Utah Historical Society.
A0428 Diane Orr
1970s-2000s - News and documentary films, some made in conjunction with the now defunct KUTV Documentary Division. The collection includes material about the Wounded Knee standoff, the plight of Utah's Native Americans, the SL-1 nuclear disaster, the Teton Dam break, and the mystery of Everett Ruess, etc.
2000-2003 - Experimental and documentary films made while a student at the University of Utah.
1984-2002 - Experimental and documentary films by University of Utah MFA film graduate.
2001 - Experimental film "Stealing Away." Davies is a Utah filmmaker whose work has been featured in video installations in Salt Lake City and San Francisco.
1984-2010 - Dance related experimental films and documentaries based in the Salt Lake City area. The collection includes recordings of "InterPlay," an annual broadcast of concurrent music, dance and poetry performances taking place in cities around the world. The Miklavcics are live performance professionals and educators and founders of the Another Language Performing Arts Company.
1990s - "The Animal's Court," a film in which animals explain the adverse effects destructive human activity has on their homes. Wolking studied psychology at the University of Utah.
2003 - Documentary about John Birch.
2003 - Films made while a student at the University of Utah. The collection includes a documentary about Salt Lake City woodworker Gonzalo Tenogo.
2003 - Feature length narrative about homeless people in Salt Lake City by University of Utah graduate.
1999-2003 - Narrative and documentary films produced by the Japanese born filmmaker while a graduate student at the University of Utah. All of the films deal with Japanese-American cultural or historical issues.
1998-2003 - Films written and directed by Page and filmed by Page and other crew members of the television program Touched by an Angel during their spare time and shot in and around Salt Lake City, Utah.
1997-2000 - Films made while a student at the University of Utah.
2003 - Documentary about John Fillwalk, a video installation artist who teaches at Ball State University in Indiana. The film was shot in Southern Utah and Northern Arizona by current University of Utah film professor Pecchia-Bekkum.
2003 - Short experimental, narrative and documentary films made while a student at the University of Utah.
2004 - Narrative short filmed largely in Utah using local extras and equipment from Salt Lake City's Redman Movies and Stories.
2002-2004 - Feature length horror films by Utah filmmaker.
2003 - Film by Utah based artist Jenevieve Hubbard while she was an art student at the University of Utah.
2003 - Experimental short by Utah native.
2000-2009 Raw footage and finished films assembled by elementary and high school aged filmmakers under the tutelage of Spy Hop Productions, a Salt Lake City not-for-profit youth media center specializing in educational solutions through the multimedia arts. The collection features documentaries about the 2002 Winter Olympic Games, refugees in Utah, and Salt Lake City's West Side, as well as numerous shorts, narratives and animated films.
1994 - Films made while a student at the University of Utah, including "The Crooked Quill," about a homeless veteran.
2004 - Animated shorts made while a student at the University of Utah.
2004 - Documentary about WWII D-Day survivors by Colorado based filmmaker Cappetto. The film premiered at the Salt Lake City Public Library.
2004 - Documentary about the J. Willard Marriott Library's efforts to find funding to renovate its facilities. Made while a student at the University of Utah.
2003 - Feature length narrative made while a student at the University of Utah. The film features several Salt Lake City locations.
1980s - Experimental films made while a student at the University of Utah.
2003 - Short films made while a student at the University of Utah. Most films are in the horror genre.
2002-2003 - Two narrative shorts about family dynamics that have screened at film festivals in Salt Lake City and across the United States.
2000-2004 - Narrative and experimental shorts by University of Utah graduate.
1999 - Short documentary about smokejumping in Alaska made by University of Utah graduate.
A0825 Sue Jensen Weeks
1970s - 16mm films by local filmmaker Sue Jensen Weeks, one of the University of Utah's first film students.
2001-2003 - Art related films and video installations created by Jones while a student of sculpture at the University of Utah. These films are analytical experiments with frameless animation and Technicolor film processing.
A0831 Judith Dwan Hallet
1966-2003 - Documentary films by University of Utah graduate Judy Hallet, who has produced movies shown by KUTV, National Geographic, PBS and the Library of Congress. Film subjects include Native Americans, Utah and Western history and culture, modern dance, etc.
A0832 Trent Harris
1970s-2000s - Independent films including Rubin and Ed (1991), The Beaver Trilogy (2000), Plan 10 from Outer Space (1995) and other narrative and documentary films created throughout the Utah filmmaker's career, including documentaries for the KUTV newsmagazine EXTRA and student films created while studying at the University of Utah.
2003-2005 - Short short films made by Stetich while a student at East High School and at the Utah Film and Video Center.
A0914 Bill Daniel
2008 - Documentary "Who is Bozo Tezino," which screened in Salt Lake City.
A0938 Orland Lavell "Brig" Tapp
1947-1963 - Narrative and travelogue films by Tapp, a Salt Lake City heating engineer, Utah Cine Arts Club president and zone chairman of the Motion Picture Division of the Photographic Society of America. Tapp's award winning films focus on outdoor passtimes and feature locations in Southern Utah, the Wasatch Mountains, and Murray, Utah circa 1950s.
Rainbow Trail (1948)
About Subject Guides
Audio-Visual subject guides outline the collections you can use to research different subjects.
Collections are listed by accession number with a description of its contents. Some will have only brief descriptions while others will contain detailed lists or link to more comprehensive Special Collections finding aids.
Contact us for more information about collections that interest you.