Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remember to check the key resources:
Access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. A first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
U.S. Census Bureau
"Serve(s) as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy." Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.
U. S. Government data and statistical resources
Features an alphabetical list of data resources from government agencies. Includes all topics from health, education, economic, crime, child and family, immigration, genealogy, labor and many more.
Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC)
The Civil Rights Data Collection collects data on key education and civil rights issues in our nation's public schools for use by the U.S. Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights (OCR), other Department of Education offices, and other policymakers and researchers. This data collection provides information about students in public elementary and secondary schools on a variety of indicators, including enrollment, access to educational programs or services, and academic proficiency.
Consortium on Chicago School Research at the University of Chicago
The Consortium conducts research on Chicago's public schools, the problems they face, and the mechanisms for improvement. Includes surveys of students, teachers, and principals, and compiles test scores, grade files and administrative histories. The archive also houses additional data including census data for Chicago, crime statistics, administrative history, data on students, and detailed information on 363 Chicago neighborhoods.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
IPEDS is a system of surveys designed to collect data from all primary providers of postsecondary education. Study components include earned degrees/completions, fall enrollment, staff, finance, institutional characteristics, salaries, tenure, and fringe benefits of full-time instructional faculty.
Milwaukee Parental Choice Program
This was the first program in the United States to provide major subsidies to private schools as part of a general voucher program. The data were collected as part of the annual evaluation of this program.
Monitoring the Future
Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of some 50,000 8th, 10th and 12th grade students are surveyed. A number of questions on drug use are asked.
National Education Longitudinal Study 1988
A sample of eighth-graders surveyed in 1988 on a range of topics. A sample were resurveyed through four follow-ups in 1990, 1992, 1994, and 2000. The study has four types of data files - student, teacher, parent, and school - although note each type is available for each survey year.
National Household Education Surveys (NHES)
These surveys cover learning at all ages, from early childhood to school age to adulthood. Surveys include adult education (1991, 1995, 1999, 2001, 2003), early childhood program participation (1991, 1995, 1999, 2001), and parent and family involvement in education (1996, 1999, 2003) among others.
National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1979 and 1997
The National Longitudinal Surveys of Youth are designed to document the transition from school to work and into adulthood. They collect extensive information about youths' labor market behavior and educational experiences over time. Data are also available from SSDS.
National Postsecondary Student Aid Study (NPSAS) Series
The National Postsecondary Student Aid Survey (NPSAS) provides information on how postsecondary student financial aid is targeted, received, and used. A significant component of the NPSAS is the Student Loan Recipient Transcript Survey, which collected postsecondary-school transcripts for Guaranteed Student Loan (GSL) recipients who were surveyed in the Student Loan Recipient Survey (SLRS).
Resource Center for Minority Data (ICPSR)
"The mission for the Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) is to provide educators, researchers, and students with data resources so that they can produce analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States."
School District Demographics Systems (SDDS)
"The purpose of SDDS is to help community leadership, educators, researchers and analysts, libraries and information providers, students, and the public to access and use demographic data to help them better understand current demographic characteristics, patterns and change taking place, as well as plan for improved educational programs and opportunities."
Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS)
A survey of the characteristics and conditions of America's public and private schools and the teachers and principals who work in them.
Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System
In addition to SESTAT, a comprehensive and integrated system of information about the employment, educational, and demographic characteristics of scientists and engineers, this site also makes available several surveys of recipients of higher education.
Texas Higher Education Opportunity Project (THEOP)
A multi-year study that investigates college planning and enrollment behavior under a policy that guarantees admission to any Texas public college or university to high school seniors who graduate in the top decile of their class.
The Common Core of Data
Annual, national statistical database of information about public elementary and secondary schools (e.g., enrollment by grade, student characteristics, number of teachers) and school districts (e.g., number of students, number of high school graduates in the previous year).
The National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. As such there are a number of longitudinal studies available on the NCES web site as well as at ICPSR.
Utah Government Data Sets
A variety of data files and sources for Utah