Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remember to check the key resources:
Access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. A first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
U.S. Census Bureau
"Serve(s) as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy." Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.
U. S. Government data and statistical resources
Features an alphabetical list of data resources from government agencies. Includes all topics from health, education, economic, crime, child and family, immigration, genealogy, labor and many more.
Race and Ethnicity
1991 National Race and Politics Survey
The 1991 National Race and Politics Survey was a nationwide telephone survey carried out by the Survey Research Center of the University of California, Berkeley. Respondents were asked questions about welfare, race relations, altruism, and members of other races.
1997 Survey of Chicago African Americans
A telephone survey of African Americans aged 18 years or older, residing in areas of Chicago. The Survey Research Center of the University of California, Berkeley, conducted the survey from February 10 to August 3, 1997. There were 756 completed interviews.
General Social Survey (GSS)
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource.
Latino National Political Survey, 2006
This data collection measured the political attitudes and behaviors of three specific Latino groups in the United States: Mexican, Puerto Rican, and Cuban.
Little Village Survey
Little Village, a neighborhood on the south side of Chicago, is the largest Mexican community in the Midwestern United States. The Little Village Survey consists of business and household surveys. As of July 2005, the household data is being prepared for publication. Sample size is 244 business and 325 household respondents.
Murray Research Archive - Diversity Archive
The Diversity Archive consists of numerous studies with racially and ethnically diverse samples. The Murray Research Archive also houses a number of studies focusing on specific ethnic groups and on ethnic relations. Application needs to be made directly to the Murray Research Archive for permission to use the data.
National Longitudinal Survey of Freshmen
Developed to provide comprehensive data to test different theoretical explanations for minority underachievement in higher education of college students at regular intervals. The survey includes equal-sized samples of white, black, Asian, and Latino freshmen entering selective colleges and universities.
National Survey of Black Americans
National Survey of Black Americans 1979-1980, 1987-1988, 1988-1989, 1992 (ICPSR)
The survey investigates neighborhood-community integration, services, crime and community contact, the role of religion and the church, physical and mental health, self-esteem, life satisfaction, employment, the effects of chronic unemployment, the effects of race on the job, interaction with family and friends, racial attitudes, race identity, group stereotypes, and race ideology.
Pew Hispanic Center
A non-partisan research organization to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the United States. Downloadable datasets include the 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Politics and Civic Participation, the 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Education, and the 2002 National Survey of Latinos
Resource Center for Minority Data-ICPSR
RCMD is a recent initiative of ICPSR. The changing demographic composition has expanded the scope of the U.S. racial and ethnic mosaic. As a result, interest and research on race and ethnicity has become more complex and expansive. Initially, ICPSR tapped its archives to assemble existing data files that focused upon communities of color. Since the late 1990's, there has been a marked increase in studies and projects on more minorities communities and exploring a wider range of experiences and r
National Black Election Studies
The purpose of this data series was to provide large-scale scientific surveys and make possible in-depth investigation of the political attitudes, perceptions, and electoral behaviors of a large, representative national sample of adult Black Americans.