City & Metropolitan Planning
A library research guide that directs students to recommended and specialized resources for their study within City & Metropolitan Planning.
Try these first ...
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,040 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsA comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, landscape architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. International indexing of both scholarly and popular periodical literature as well as the publications of professional associations and U.S. and regional periodicals. Some full text access; selective coverage back to 1741.
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Environmental Studies provides detailed information on current environmental issues and processes from both a scientific and a social standpoint suitable for high school, undergrad, and graduate students. Reference works, case studies, multimedia materials, newspapers, and magazines provide a wide range of content to support all learners.
- SCOPUSScopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. The database is updated daily and contains over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, 36 million records, results from 431 million scientific web pages, 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices, "Articles-in-Press" from over 3,000 journals, and links to other full-text articles and library resources.
- Business Source PremierIncludes the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Covers many business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, & economics. Additional full text, non-journal content covers market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, & SWOT analyses. Topics covered include: finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, & regional studies.
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of all journals in all JSTOR collections, including those that cover the subjects of economics, geography, health policy, population studies, public policy & administration, and transportation studies.
- PsycINFOThis database contains citations and summaries from various journals and books which cover psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, including sociology, education, business, economics, and law. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 30 languages. The collection includes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, citations for dissertations, and some full-text articles.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (ProQuest Direct)Provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)NOTE: To access this database, you must come to the Marriott Library and use one of the library computers OR consult the Fine Arts & Architecture librarian for a password. Provides access to the world's leading scholarly literature in the social sciences, including journals, conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Citation searching enables following the past and future research of a published article.
- Planner's BibliographyThe Planners Bibliography Web Tool is an online resource for planners and researchers seeking a comprehensive, interdisciplinary bibliography of pertinent literature.
It includes annotated listings of scholarly and practical monographs, journal and magazine articles, government documents, and websites, bringing the best scholarly work to the attention of practitioners in the field and highlighting for scholars important practical applications of academic research.
This project was funded in part by a Carnegie-Whitney Grant from the American Library Association. - Engineering VillageThis link provides access to the content of two databases from Engineering Village, Compendex and Inspec. Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. More than 650,000 new records are added to the database annually from over 190 disciplines and major specialties within engineering.
News / Current Events & Historical
For additional newspaper databases, consult the Marriott Library's Select Databases by Type: Newspapers.
To learn more about using newspapers for research, consult the Newspapers as a Research Tool research guide.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
- New York Times Historical NewspaperFully searchable text of the Times from 1851-2006. Find words anywhere in the text, including short items--like stock quotes, broadcast schedules, display and classified ads-- which have never before been indexed. Articles can be displayed in their page context and one can read through an issue page by page.
- ProQuest NewsstandFull text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Includes archives for the Salt Lake Tribune and Deseret News.
- Utah Digital NewspapersThis project digitizes a variety of local Utah newspapers from the late 18th to early 20th centuries. They are fully searchable and are presented as they appeared at the time.
Sage Online Journals for Planning
Articles & News
A LITERATURE REVIEW is an account of what has been published on a topic by accredited scholars and researchers. See what scholars have to say by searching for articles in scholarly journals.
