City & Metropolitan Planning

Use this guide to find material that you can freely use, share or modify beyond what the Fair Use Doctrine (and other exceptions) usually allows.

Consult this guide for tips and links to library databases and web resources with images and multimedia.

Includes more than 3.5 million primary-source photographs from the 1820s to the present, as well as the original captions AND more than 100,000 graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs.

A digital library of more than one million images and 360°-panoramas of art, architecture, cultural objects, maps, ephemera, and more. NOTE: To use ARTstor from off-campus, you must first register a personal account within ARTstor while on a campus computer.

This Library of Congress website provides online access to a study collection of lantern slides from the Harvard Graduate School of Design. The images represent the work of prominent landscape architects throughout the country and offer views of cities, specific buildings, parks, estates, and gardens, including a complete history of Boston's Park System -- American buildings and landscape built between 1850 ad 1920. Views of plans, maps and models are also available.

This collection was created by the College of Architecture + Planning at the University of Utah to facilitate the study of a wide range of local, national and international architectural styles and histories.

The Mountain West Digital Library is an aggregation of digital collections from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, and Idaho. Hosting institutions each run servers supporting their own digital collections and support partner institutions by providing scanning and hosting services. The Mountain West defines the region of contributors, but the content extends beyond the Mountain West and into different fields.

SPRIO is the online catalog & image database of the College of Environmental Design Visual Resources Center, University of California, Berkeley. Images located in SPIRO are for educational use.