City & Metropolitan Planning
A library research guide that directs students to recommended and specialized resources for their study within City & Metropolitan Planning.
Education
- Early Career Investigators - OSPResources and guidelines for those in their early careers.
- Research Education (REd) - VP for ResearchList of courses offered by the Research Integrity and Compliance office. Some courses offered live and other asynchronous.
- Grants.gov LearningThe Grants Learning Center is your gateway to the federal grants world
- VP for Research OfficeResources offered by the VP for Research Office.
Art & Architecture Librarian
Search National Funding Opportunities
Listed below are several databases and websites for finding grants and other funding opportunities.
- Pivot-RP This link opens in a new windowIf you have any questions about this database, please email - lorelei.rutledge@utah.edu; nena.schvaneveldt@utah.edu; alfred.mowdood@utah.edu - the Marriott Library links to this database but does not administer the subscription.
Locating and securing research funding is becoming increasingly competitive, as funding opportunities are limited and the number of researchers vying for those dollars continues to grow. Pivot-RP answers the growing demands on research developers to quickly discover the right funding opportunities and effectively collaborate with their colleagues. With Pivot-RP, ProQuest continues their commitment to empower researchers around the world with tools that they need at various stages of their research lifecycle. Pivot-RP is intuitive and easy to use. It is designed for a researcher - anyone from corporate to academia (faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students) can benefit from using it. - Foundation Directory This link opens in a new windowThe Foundation Directory provides a variety of information about foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities. Over 120,000 profiles, 1,000,000 searchable IRS forms, and numerous maps and charts of grants data are contained in this database.
- Guidestar by Candid This link opens in a new windowGuidestar provides information on IRS-recognized nonprofit organizations, including public charities, private foundations, and trade associations. Guidestar data includes revenue, expenses, balance sheets, annual reports, contact information, lists of officers and other key personnel, IRS 990s, mission statements, and governance information. The database also includes news on philanthropy, and resources for donors and volunteers. Search by name, keyword, city or state, nonprofit type, NTEE code, or income range.
- Grants.govWith an annual budget of $8.3 billion (FY 2020), we are the funding source for approximately 27 percent of the total federal budget for basic research conducted at U.S. colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
- National Science FoundationWith an annual budget of $8.3 billion (FY 2020), we are the funding source for approximately 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
- National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship ProgramThe program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.
- National Institutes of HealthNIH offers funding for many types of grants, contracts, and even programs that help repay loans for researchers. Learn about these programs, as well as about NIH's budget process, grant funding strategies, and policies, and more.
Search University of Utah Funding Opportunities
The University of Utah offers internal funding opporunities and support systems. Listed below are a few key resources:
- University of Utah Office of Sponsored ProjectsOur office is responsible for the effective and timely handling of research proposals. We prepare, interpret, negotiate, and execute agreements on behalf of the University of Utah for projects funded by federal and state agencies, foundations, and other public and private sources. We also draft, negotiate, and execute awards and subawards for collaborative research.
- Find Funding SourcesFrom the University of Utah Office of Sponsored Projects.
Learn more about available funding opportunities, and find opportunities by type. - SACNASSACNAS is an all-inclusive community dedicated to supporting diversity and fostering success in under-represented STEM fields from students to professionals.
- Undergraduate Research Opportunities (UROP)The Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) provides undergraduate students and mentors the opportunity to work together on research or creative projects.
Books/Manuals
Grant Writing for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119868071Publication Date: 2022-03-29Write award-winning grant proposals that build organizational capacity! For nonprofit and for-profit firms alike, grants can be a singular generator of growth and impact. But many leaders are intimidated and confused by the sometimes-complex grant application process. The truth, however, is that anyone can learn to write and send a powerful grant letter with the right help.- The grant application writer's workbook : successful proposals to any agency byCall Number: HG177.5.U6 G72 2016Publication Date: 2016
Winning Grants Step by Step by ISBN: 9781118378342Publication Date: 2013-08-26A very practical A-to-Z resource that speaks to the importance of staying focused on your mission every step of the way. The third edition is artfully updated with words of wisdom from grantmakers themselves, as well as updates on the latest processes and buzzwords all grantseekers need to know.
