Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select Web Resources: Architecture
College of Architecture + Planning: News + Events
Other Architecture/Design Resources
designinform supports research into the history of modern design and the applied arts. some of its content is only available through subscription -- however -- its Research Guides are available on the open web.
designinform Research Guide No. 1: Internet Sources of Biographical Information
designinform Research Guide No. 2: Free-access, digitized art, architecture, design, and craft journals on the internet.
NetResources, compiled by the Society of Architectural Historians
The Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) has collated these links to net resources focused on reference information, collections, image compendia, specific architects, and texts. For links to more general resources, refer to the SAH's "netresources2".
Pritzker Architecture Prize
Includes pages with biographical information and selected works by all winners, 1979 (Philip Johnson) - 2011 (Eduardo Souto de Moura).
The NYPL Digital Gallery: Cities & Buildings
The NYPL [New York Public Library] Digital Gallery provides free and open access to more than 700,000 images digitized from the library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, and more. Of special interest to students and researchers in Architecture, Design, and Planning is the BROWSE heading: Cities & Buildings. Here you will find photographs, maps, architectural plans, and other relevant visual material.
What have you found?
If you have found interesting and useful online resources not mentioned here or elsewhere in the guide, let me know!
Manuscript & Archival Collections
A Digital Archive of [European] Architecture
An online archive of digital images created and collected by Professor Jeffery Howe at Boston University. Structures represented range from prehistoric (Stonehenge) to Gothic churches to Sir Edwin Lutyens -- and much in between. These images are for educational use only.
Digital Archive of American Architecture
An archive currently consisting of nearly 1,500 digitized images of American architecture (280 buildings) plus explanatory material, originally constructed as a supplement to Professor Jeffrey Howe's (Boston University) course FA 267 From Saltbox to Skyscraper: Architecture in America. This class surveys the development of architecture in America from the 17th century to the present, with particular emphasis given to local architectural monuments. These images are for educational use only.
Environmental Design Archives (UC Berkeley)
A large collection of architecture and landscape architecture records documenting Northern California and beyond -- and emphasizing mid-century modernism -- located in the College of Environmental Design at UC Berkeley. A selection of the collection has been digitized and available for viewing online via the Online Archive of California (OAC). Link to images from "List of Collections" / (select a collection) / look for the "Finding Aid on OAC" link / look for the photo icon.
Library of Congress / National Register
American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920 (Library of Congress, American Memory Project)
This Library of Congress website provides online access to a study collection of lantern slides from the Harvard Graduate School of Design. The images represent the work of prominent landscape architects throughout the country and offer views of cities, specific buildings, parks, estates, and gardens, including a complete history of Boston's Park System -- American buildings and landscape built between 1850 ad 1920. Views of plans, maps and models are also available.
HABS / HAER / HALS Documentation Online
Administered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, & the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.
National Register of Historic Places
"National Park Service archeologists, architects, curators, historians, and other cultural resource professionals work in America's nearly 400 national parks to preserve, protect, and share the history of this land and its people."