Salt Lake Architecture Bibliography: Images
PowerPoint Tip
For help with sizing images appropriately for your PowerPoint presentations, check out this short YouTube tutorial video produced by the Visual Resources Center in the School of Architecture at the University to Texas-Austin. Now you know ....
Select Resources for Images
- AP ImagesIncludes more than 3.5 million primary-source photographs from the 1820s to the present, as well as the original captions AND more than 100,000 graphics, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs.
- ARTstorA digital library of more than one million images and 360°-panoramas of art, architecture, cultural objects, maps, ephemera, and more. NOTE: To use ARTstor from off-campus, you must first register a personal account within ARTstor while on a campus computer.
- American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920 (Library of Congress, American Memory Project)This Library of Congress website provides online access to a study collection of lantern slides from the Harvard Graduate School of Design. The images represent the work of prominent landscape architects throughout the country and offer views of cities, specific buildings, parks, estates, and gardens, including a complete history of Boston's Park System -- American buildings and landscape built between 1850 ad 1920. Views of plans, maps and models are also available.
- College of Architecture + Planning Image CollectionThis collection was created by the College of Architecture + Planning at the University of Utah to facilitate the study of a wide range of local, national and international architectural styles and histories.
- Mountain West Digital LibraryThe Mountain West Digital Library is an aggregation of digital collections from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, and Idaho. Hosting institutions each run servers supporting their own digital collections and support partner institutions by providing scanning and hosting services. The Mountain West defines the region of contributors, but the content extends beyond the Mountain West and into different fields.
- SPIRO (UC Berkeley)SPRIO is the online catalog & image database of the College of Environmental Design Visual Resources Center, University of California, Berkeley. Images located in SPIRO are for educational use.
- Flickr Image Group: School of Architecture UT-AustinImages generated by the University of Texas School of Architecture students, faculty, and staff.
- HABS / HAER / HALS Documentation OnlineAdministered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, & the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.
ARTstor Subject Guides
ARTstor provides several very useful SUBJECT GUIDES that may help you identify relevant collections for your research in City & Metropolitan Planning. I recommend checking out the following:
VERY USEFUL research guides!
- Permissions Free ResourcesUse this guide to find material that you can freely use, share or modify beyond what the Fair Use Doctrine (and other exceptions) usually allows.
- Finding Images & MultimediaConsult this guide for tips and links to library databases and web resources with images and multimedia.
Beyond PowerPoint!
Some of these tools we've tried and recommend (as noted). All others are tools we've heard about but don't have direct experience with them. Many of these tools are free for students and educators.
- Animoto"Cinematic Artificial Intelligence technology that thinks like an actual director and editor. It analyzes and combines user-selected images, video clips and music with the same sophisticated post-production skills and techniques that are used in television & film."
- CapzelsA visual storytelling tool. "Create interactive, rich-media timelines online using videos, photos, text, music, audio and most documents."
- Prezi (Recommended)"Bring your ideas into one space and see how they relate. Zoom out to see the big picture and zoom in to see details." Text, images, video, audio, and animation.
- VoiceThread"Collaborative, multimedia slide show that holds images, documents, and videos, and allows people to navigate slides and leave comments in 5 ways - using voice, text, audio file, or video. Users can doodle while commenting, use multiple identities, and pick which comments are shown through moderation. VoiceThreads can even be embedded to show and receive comments on other websites and exported to MP3 players or DVDs to play as archival movies."
- VuVox (Recommended)"Create interactive slideshows and presentations from photos, video and music from Flickr, Picasa Web Albums, YouTube, Facebook, or your personal collection."
- Zoho ShowPowerPoint + web conferencing software = Zoho Show.
Image Storage & Search Tools
Use these sites to find free--but not necessarily copyright free--images online.
- CreativeCommons SearchSearch multiple sources for images and media, including Google, Flickr, Wikimedia Commons & more.
- FlickrThis online image storage and presentation tool allows users to limit their advanced searches to images shared under Creative Commons licenses.
- Google Art Project"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
- TinEyeFind out where images are posted and how they're being used.
- Wikimedia"A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone."
Cool Graphic Communication Tools!
- Graphic Guides"A series of graphic guides that covers many key thinkers and topics in philosophy, psychology and science, and many others in politics, religion, cultural studies, linguistics and other areas. Each book is written by an expert in the field, and illustrated by a leading graphic artist." IN MARRIOTT LIBRARY CATALOG, SEARCH: "introducing" and "icon books"
- Information is Beautiful"Visualizing information – facts, data, ideas, subjects, issues, statistics, questions – all with the minimum of words." Consult the book, VISUAL MISCELLANEUM, Fine Arts Library Colleciton AG243 .M33 2009
- PhotoSynth"Photosynth takes your photos, mashes them together and recreates a 3D scene out of them that anyone can view and move around in."
- Wordle"A tool for generating 'word clouds' from text that you provide. The clouds give greater prominence to words that appear more frequently in the source text. You can tweak your clouds with different fonts, layouts, and color schemes."
