ULibraries Research Guides: Chemical Engineering: Handbooks, Data and Properties

Great Starting Points - Encyclopedias or Rules of Thumb

These e-books in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, are great places to start, including Plant Design and Operation and data on many chemical properties of compounds. Hint: Simply search for the name of the compound and the property you are looking for, such as benzene and "boiling point." Notable titles include:

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by CRC Press
Publication Date: 1913-

Chemical Kinetics

NTIS Kinetics Database (National Technical Information Service)
For "thermal gas-phase chemical reactions"; contains 11,700 distinct reactant pairs.

Kinetics data is difficult to find because each set of reaction conditions is unique. Searching the literature is a good way to find this data, otherwise there area a few databases that might help.

IUPAC Task Group on Atmospheric Chemical Kinetic Data Evaluation
"This website provides kinetic and photochemical data evaluated by the IUPAC Task Group on Atmospheric Chemical Kinetic Data Evaluation."
NDRL/NIST Solution Kinetics Database
Data for free radical processes involving primary radicals from water, inorganic radicals and carbon-centered radicals in solution, and singlet oxygen and organic peroxyl radicals in various solvents.

Other Resources for Chemical and Thermophysical Properties

DIPPR -- Design Institute for Physical Properties [part of the AIChE]
About DIPPR
Created in 1978 under the auspices of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers the Design Institute for Physical Properties (DIPPR) has become the premier research collaboration on physical property data to satisfy process engineering needs. Currently, the DIPPR® 801 database contains recommendations for 34 constant properties and 15 temperature-dependent properties for over 2,200 compounds.
more...less...
DIPPR is a renowned source of Evaluated Process Design Data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design.

DIPPR Membership and Benefits
Membership:

DIPPR has a broad range of participants worldwide including companies in the chemical, petroleum, biochemical, pharmaceutical, and allied industries; environmental companies; engineering contractors, consultants, and specialty firms; government agencies; academic institutions; and consortia.

Benefits:

Exclusive use of new DIPPR data until it is released to the public domain, typically five years after the fully evaluated data has been made available to sponsors.
A voice in the annual selection of new compounds to be added to the DIPPR database to ensure that the database is relevant to your operations.
Leverage scarce resources through collaboration with industry peers.
Benchmark practices and network with industry experts dealing with thermo-physical and environmental data needs.
Access to experimental excellence in thermo-physical property measurement.

DIPPR Membership and Benefits
Membership:

DIPPR has a broad range of participants worldwide including companies in the chemical, petroleum, biochemical, pharmaceutical, and allied industries; environmental companies; engineering contractors, consultants, and specialty firms; government agencies; academic institutions; and consortia.

Benefits:

Exclusive use of new DIPPR data until it is released to the public domain, typically five years after the fully evaluated data has been made available to sponsors.
A voice in the annual selection of new compounds to be added to the DIPPR database to ensure that the database is relevant to your operations.
Leverage scarce resources through collaboration with industry peers.
Benchmark practices and network with industry experts dealing with thermo-physical and environmental data needs.
Access to experimental excellence in thermo-physical property measurement.

These are other individual titles you might consider consulting if Knovel and CRCnetBASE do not have what you need. There are also a number of print resources within the Chemistry Library that you might find useful, including the NIST-JANAF tables (Ref. 541.360212 J251 1998.) and the DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series.

NIST/TRC Web Thermo Tables
more...less...
Provides online access to the"TRC Thermodynamic Tables - Hydrocarbons" and "TRC Thermodynamic Tables - Non-Hydrocarbons". Almost 900,000 data points for over 7,700 compounds are provided, including thermodynamic data such as critical properties, heat capacities, vapor pressures and more.

Find properties fast

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (from ProQuest ebrary)

The Marriott Library has online access to Perry's 8th edition.

CRCnetBASE

CRCnetBASE is a collection similar to Knovel, that has titles related to chemistry and chemical engineering. It also contains a number of handbooks related to data on polymers. You can search across the entire collection or connect directly to specific titles of interest below:

Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbook
Chemical Process Engineering: Design and Economics
Chemical Reactor Design [Peter Harriott]
Process Engineering Economics