Chemical Engineering

"This book, a combination, update and expansion of two earlier CCPS Guideline publications, emphasizes a risk-based approach to the evaluation of safety system design. Potential safety systems suggested are categorized as inherently safer / passive, active and procedural, in decreasing order of robustness and reliability. Inherently safer approaches are often preferred, but there can be no general answer to the question of which approach or specific solution is the best for a particular situation... Safety, health effects, environmental impact, loss prevention, economic and business factors, product quality, technical feasibility, and many other factors must be considered. This book challenges the engineer to adopt a risk-based approach to evaluating many competing goals when deciding among a number of potential design alternatives."

"Prudent Practices in the Laboratory--the book that has served for decades as the standard for chemical laboratory safety practice--now features updates and new topics. This revised edition has an expanded chapter on chemical management and delves into new areas, such as nanotechnology, laboratory security, and emergency planning. Developed by experts from academia and industry, with specialties in such areas as chemical sciences, pollution prevention, and laboratory safety, Prudent Practices in the Laboratory provides guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. The book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more. Prudent Practices in the Laboratory will continue to serve as the leading source of chemical safety guidelines for people working with laboratory chemicals: research chemists, technicians, safety officers, educators, and students."

TOXNET is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.

A factual database focusing on the toxicology of over 5,000 potentially hazardous chemicals. In addition to toxicity data, HSDB provides information in the areas of emergency handling procedures, industrial hygiene, environmental fate, human exposure, detection methods, and regulatory requirements. The data are fully referenced and peer-reviewed by a Scientific Review Panel composed of expert scientists.

A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced data bank, developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains over 9,000 chemical records with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results. Data are derived from studies cited in primary journals, current awareness tools, NCI reports, and other special sources. Test results have been reviewed by experts in carcinogenesis and mutagenesis.

Purdue homepage for safety data sheets. Contains links to MSDS resources.

Free database created by NOAA; includes a grid for reactivity. Also includes a wealth of other chemical safety information.