ULibraries Research Guides: Physician Assistant: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for physician assistant students. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, free database with biomedical and life sciences journal articles and books. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial and instructions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence for clinical decision making. App available. Click here for app instructions.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence levels for clinical decision making.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Clinical textbooks, self-assessment, case files, images and more.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is decision support software designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.

Other Great Resources

Resources that may be helpful for clinical settings or questions.

ECRI Guidelines Trust™ This link opens in a new window
An interactive practice guidelines portal. Free registration required.
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Drug & health information content focusing on pharmacology, natural products, diagnostic procedures and laboratory tests, dentistry, infectious diseases, and patient education. US pricing listed under Preparations.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource for dietary supplements, natural medicine, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
Micromedex Online This link opens in a new window
• Wired UHealth Network Access Only. Drug information database with monographs, interactions, and more. App available, email apps@lists.utah.edu from your University of Utah account to request app code.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.

Resources great for literature searching and locating articles.

CINAHL Logo

PubMed This link opens in a new window
• Comprehensive, free database with biomedical and life sciences journal articles and books. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
APA PsycInfo is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes citations and summaries from various journals, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Also covers related disciplines including sociology, education, business, economics, and law.

Coverage spans from 1800 - present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database with articles, conference abstracts, and drug, disease and device data.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents, especially good for looking at references and citations of articles of interest.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
Premier resource for aging and gerontology, contains journals, books, and reports.
AgeLine provides coverage of aging issues from individual, national, and global perspectives, providing a source of literature on social gerontology. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports focusing exclusively on the population aged 50+ and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine also provides information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers. Original abstracts are generated for every citation, with index terms drawn from AgeLine's Thesaurus of Aging Terminology.

Resources to help with studying and test prep.

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
A suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy, supplemented with MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations.

Case Files (Access Medicine)
Create "MyAccess" personal account to mark your progress through interactive cases.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.