ULibraries Research Guides: Complementary &amp; Integrative Medicine: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for complementary & integrative medicine. Start your search here with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource for dietary supplements, natural medicine, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
UpToDate Lexidrug, formerly Lexicomp, is a comprehensive clinical database that provides access to current drug and disease information..
Micromedex Online This link opens in a new window
Wired UHealth Network Access Only. Drug information database with drug monographs, drug interactions, and more. App available, email apps@lists.utah.edu from your University of Utah account to request app code.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Point of care information for healthcare professionals integrating best practices and evidence levels for clinical decision making. Includes patient handouts. Use the app by creating a personal account & logging in on your device; see the instructions here.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Made to be used at the point of care, integrating best practices and evidence for clinical decision making. Also includes patient handouts. App available. Click here for app instructions.
NCCIH - National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine

Other Great Resources

Resources that may be helpful for clinical settings or questions.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access e-books, e-journals, images and procedure videos. Personalize your ClinicalKey for additional benefits.

NCCIH Online Continuing Education Series

Resources great for literature searching and locating articles.

CINAHL Logo

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to full-text articles for more than 180 international (and often peer-reviewed) journals and reports focused on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text. Updated daily. Coverage may go back to 1940s and older. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 5,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index contain full text with no embargo. 1937 to present.

Resources to help with patient education.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Trusted health information for you.
From the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, MEDLINEplus is for anyone with a medical question- both health professionals and consumers.