Ethnic Studies Librarian
How to Research This Topic
My name is Adriana Parker, and I'm the librarian for TRANSFORM.
Yes, you have your own librarian!
My job is to help you to learn and understand how to navigate the library AND the university systems, and I really do want to help. If you need a hand with any research project or question (research- or university-related), please don't hesitate to reach out to me. Just email firstname.lastname@example.org. If email doesn't work best for you, let me know what does. I'm also available by text, phone, Zoom, Instagram & Facebook Messengers, Google Chat, Google Hangouts, and FaceTime, though it'll probably take us one email exchange to set things up.
Or if it's 3:00 am, you're really stressed out, and need immediate help, you can talk with an on-duty librarian using that little box below.
- Critical Race Theory by Richard Delgado; Jean StefancicISBN: 0814721354Publication Date: 2012-01-09In 2001, Richard Delgado and Jean Stefancic published theirdefinitive Critical Race Theory, acompact introduction to the field that explained, in straightforward language,the origins, principal themes, leading voices, and new directions of thisimportant movement in legal thought. Since then, critical race theory has gone on to influence numerous otherfields of scholarship, and the Delgado and Stefancic primer has remained anindispensible guide for students and teachers. Delgado and Stefancic have revised the book to includematerial on key issues such as colorblind jurisprudence, Latino-Criticalscholarship, immigration, and the rollback of affirmative action. This second edition introduces readers toimportant new voices in fields outside of law, including education andpsychology, and offers greatly expanded issues for discussion, updated readinglists, and an extensive glossary of terms.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic journals for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.Electronic journals for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
When starting your research in Ethnic studies, start by gathering background information on your topic. Tertiary sources, such as encyclopedias and reference databases, are good places to start.
Statistics can be a useful tool when researching populations or groups.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowNOTE: User registration (free) is required for this database. Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand a variety of data, including average household incomes, population density, gender distribution, marital status, occupations, and more.
Ask a Librarian!
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides
- Last Updated: Dec 5, 2022 4:14 PM
- URL: https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/ethnicstudies
- Print Page