ULibraries Research Guides: Health Statistics & Demographics: Start Here

Start Here

Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for health statistics & demographics. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.

Top Resources

Health Statistics
Demographics

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics

CDC WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

FastStats (NCHS)

IBIS-PH Utah
The State of Utah's, Department of Health, Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health (IBIS-PH).

IBIS-PH provides statistical numerical data as well as contextual information on the health status of Utahns and the state of Utah's health care system.

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Established in 1984 to track behavioral health risk in the United States. Behavior and risk categories include: exercise, being overweight, use of seatbelts, tobacco and alcohol, etc.
WHO World Health Statistics
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States and each edition supersedes the previous one.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
"The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR ) series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)."

more... less...

Peer reviewed / refereed journal.
Ranked journal (impact factor, metrics, & altmetrics).
"Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.:
Utah Department of Health
Locate the appropriate division for your needs.
2025 Data Rescue Research Guide
Provides information and tools for managing and archiving your data (or locating lost data) in light of potential data and information loss.

International Statistics
by sandra Coon Last Updated Feb 14, 2025 349 views this year

U.S. Census Bureau
"Serve(s) as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy." Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.
US and World Population Clock

Demographic Statistics from the U.S. Census and other sources
by Rebekah Cummings Last Updated Jun 3, 2025 180 views this year

Health Statistics by Type

Health, United States
Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics.
Utah Department of Health Data
Vital & Health Statistics Series
aka Rainbow Series includes statistics, data and methodology on variety of health related topics PDF files of each issue.
FastStats (NCHS)
FastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths.

AHRQ | Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
AHRQ's mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans
CMS Research, Statistcs, Data & Systems
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
The Dartmouth Atlas Project documents variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Healthcare Information and Analysis Programs
The Healthcare Information and Analysis Program implements the goals and directions of the Utah Health Data Committee. The Program collects, analyzes, and disseminates health care data. The data helps people understand cost, quality, access, and value in our health care system and allows users to identify opportunities for improvement.
Kaiser Family Foundation | Health Costs
Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
The National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology (NICHSR) ensures that the NLM products address the information needs of the health services research workforce.

Publications and Information Products from the National Center for Health Statistics
List of summaries and reports provided by the National Center for Health Statistics.
SAMHSA Data, Outcomes and Quality
Data from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

Workplace Injury, Illness and Fatality Statistics
Statistics provided by OSHA (Occupational Safety & Health Administration).
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities
The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program produces a wide range of information about workplace injuries and illnesses. These data are collected and reported annually through the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (SOII) and the Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI).
Utah Labor Commission Industrial Accidents
The Industrial Accidents resource section includes miscellaneous resources available associated with Utah’s workers’ compensation system.

National Vital Statistics System (CDC)
The National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) provides the most complete data on births and deaths in the United States

CDC WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
IBIS-PH Utah
The State of Utah's, Department of Health, Indicator-Based Information System for Public Health (IBIS-PH).

IBIS-PH provides statistical numerical data as well as contextual information on the health status of Utahns and the state of Utah's health care system.