Marriott Library Services & Spaces
This guide offers a virtual tour and introduction to the Marriott Library.
Find your Subject Specialist
This is a list of the library employees responsible for providing research assistance, classes and curriculum support, library collection building, and other library or departmental support for each of our subject areas.
Introduction to Library Research
- Articles & DatabasesLinks to all the Marriott Library databases in alphabetical, subject, and type order.
- USearch GuideHow to search the University of Utah Libraries' collections, access your library account, and more.
- Marriott Collections (incl. Special Collections)From rare books to government documents, find all of our collections here.
- Search All Research GuidesSome useful research guides are linked below, but you can also search all research guides by subject or keyword here.
Relevant Research Guides
- Finding and Exploring Your TopicFinding and exploring your research topic.
- Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary SourcesA guide to understanding the different types of sources.
- Choosing a Citation ManagerChoosing between EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero and NoodleTools to manage your citations. (Links to guides on each manager.)
- Literature Reviews GuideThis guide helps patrons conduct literature reviews for theses, dissertations, or other research projects.
- Annotated Bibliography GuideAn annotated bibliography is a descriptive and evaluative list of citations for books, articles, or other documents.
- Research Data Management GuideA guide to help researchers manage, store, and share their research data. We also offer one-on-one or group sessions if you have additional questions.
- Copyright & Fair Use OverviewUnderstand and abide by the copyright law of the United States.
- Researcher and Author ServicesWe offer personalized book and journal reading recommendations, finding the right publisher or conference, understanding copyright, learning how to craft authorship policies for your research group, and more.
- Bibliometrics and Impact Factor GuideThis guide explains how impact factor is used and calculated in journal and article rankings, as well as other methods of citation analysis.
- eBook Collections Usage GuideA comprehensive guide to using the Marriott Library's ebook collections.
- How to Find Media in the Marriott LibraryA how-to guide on finding audio or video materials in the Marriott Library collections.
- Newspapers as a Research Tool GuideAn introduction to using newspapers for research at the Marriott Library.
- Standards & CodesLearn about how to access industry standards and codes through the Marriott Library.
Download Free Software
The Office of Software Licensing has an abundance of free or discounted software for students, staff and faculty members of the University of Utah.
Some of our most popular FREE software includes Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, and more) and the Adobe Creative Cloud (Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, Dreamweaver, Lightroom, InDesign, and more).
Download the Adobe Creative Cloud
Remote Software
Remote Software Access allows you to use select software from any supported computer or device, on or off campus.
