Marriott Library, University of Utah
295 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Guide Purpose and Audience
This guide gives a basic overview of the reference interview for faculty and staff at the Marriott Library.
This process includes five main guidelines organized in the left menu: Approachability and Interest, Listening and Inquiring, Searching and Follow-Up.
For the purpose of this guide, "librarian" refers to any faculty or staff member who provides reference services.
What is a Reference Interview?
Smith & Wong (2016) define the reference interview as the "conversation between a member of the library reference staff and a library user for the purpose of clarifying the user’s needs and aiding the user in meeting those needs".
According to ODLIS, the reference interview is "the interpersonal communication that occurs between a reference librarian and a library user to determine the person's specific information need(s), which may turn out to be different from the reference question as initially posed...A reference interview may occur in person, by telephone, or electronically (usually via e-mail) at the request of the user, but a well-trained reference librarian will sometimes initiate communication if a hesitant user appears to need assistance".
Basically, we're trying to figure out the specific information the patron is looking for, and helping them find it.
- Conducting the Reference Interview by Catherine Sheldrick Ross; Kirsti Nilsen; Marie L. RadfordCall Number: Z711 .R64 2009ISBN: 9781555706555Publication Date: 2009-06-01The revised 2nd edition of this practical how-to for all types of librarians will teach you to understand the needs of public, academic, and special library users across any virtual setting--email, text messaging, and social networking Web sites--as welll as in traditional and face-to-face models of communication. Based on the latest research in communication theory, the book includes new exercises and examples to help you practice effective reference transactions and avoid common pitfalls. Guidance for helping users with special language-related needs (such as speech and hearing disabilities and English language learners) and social difficulties is also included, as are updated chapters on readers' advisory interviewing and policy and training procedures. An extensively revised chapter on virtual reference features new sections on live chat and instant messaging services as well as a discussion of Web 2.0 initiatives and updated information on email reference.
- Defusing the Angry Patron by Rhea Joyce RubinCall Number: Z711 .R79 2000ISBN: 1555703720Publication Date: 2000-01-01Does dealing with angry customers eat up staff time, increase stress at public service desks, and undermine morale? This work introduces the many causes and faces of anger as well as practical techniques for dealing with angry patrons. It covers handling frustration and confrontative behaviour.
- Reference and Information Services by Linda C. Smith (Editor); Melissa A. Wong (Editor)Call Number: Z711 .R443 2016ISBN: 9781440836961Publication Date: 2016-08-29Thoroughly updated, this is the essential guide to one of the most fundamental fields in the library profession. It links you-and through you, your patrons-to the significant changes that have occurred in reference and information sciences with emphasis on the growth of digital content. * Provides a comprehensive text edited by two highly regarded experts in reference and academic librarianship, Linda C. Smith and Melissa A. Wong, with chapters written by some of the best minds in the library science field * Includes newly updated information that reflects today's realities in reference service with an indication of how reference service may be provided to meet changing patron needs in the future * Encompasses the effective use of print sources, free online sources, and fee-based sources * Features individual chapters that can be used for in-service staff training or in student course packs
- The Virtual Reference Handbook by Diane K. KovacsCall Number: Z711.45 .K69 2007ISBN: 1555705987Publication Date: 2007-02-01IM, e-mail, and chat reference is already here, but have you adapted your traditional reference interview and information provision skills to these new formats? ACRL online trainer and popular Internet workshop leader Diane Kovacs has assembled this handbook to help reference librarians develop the communication skills and resources they need to work effectively in the virtual reference environment. The handbook shows how to adapt traditional face-to-face reference interview skills to the virtual interview-and how to interpret and use new cues (chat slang, IM shorthand, emoticons, etc.) to better serve your users. For both chat and e-mail transactions, Kovacs outlines strategies for analyzing the question, conducting the interview, developing a search strategy, and delivering sources. There is guidance for selecting the best information format for users and delivering content in a timely and valuable manner. This practical guide offers everything reference librarians need to move from the face-to-face to virtual transaction with ease.
by Ismaeil Hakimi Last Updated Mar 14, 2023 466 views this year
- RUSA Guidelines for Conducting a Reference InterviewGuidelines for Behavioral Performance of Reference and Information Service Providers as researched and written by Reference and User Services Association
- Marriott Library Service PrinciplesService principles and best practices for the Marriott Library. "Patron's Needs are the Focus of Each Person's Effort."
- Last Updated: Oct 8, 2020 11:56 AM
- URL: https://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/referenceinterview
- Print Page