Reference Interview
This guide gives a basic overview of the reference interview for faculty and staff at the Marriott Library.
For assistance
Ismaeil Hakimi
Contact:
Information & Research Specialist, Middle East Collection Liaison
Marriott Library, University of Utah
295 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Marriott Library, University of Utah
295 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
801-581-5137
Example
"Hello? I'm having trouble finding articles."
"Hi, thank you for your question! My name is ____ and I'll be more than happy to help with that!"
Approachability
Before the reference interaction even begins, a patron needs to see that you are approachable!
The librarian's first step in initiating the reference interaction is to make the patron feel comfortable in a situation that can be perceived as intimidating, confusing, or overwhelming. This is especially true when the patron is a member of an underserved or otherwise marginalized group.
How to be Approachable:
- Body language
- Sit up straight
- Don't look bored
- Make eye contact
- Smile
- Acknowledge the patron with a friendly greeting
Interest
After the patron has initiated the reference interaction, it is your responsibility as a librarian to show interest in the research topic. This assures the patron that their research or question has value.
How to Show Interest:
- Focus complete attention on the patron and their information need
- Maintain or re-establish eye contact with patron throughout transaction
- Signal an understanding of the patron's needs through verbal and non-verbal confirmation, such as nodding of the head, restating their question, or asking additional questions to better understand the patron's query
- Demonstrate a high degree of objective, nonjudgmental interest
- While not every query will be of interest to the librarian, the librarian should embrace each patron's information need and should be committed to providing the most effective assistance.
- Get the patron started on initial steps of their search, then move on to other patrons and provide more assistance later if needed
- Don't forget to check back on their progress!
Table of Contents
Helpful Links
- RUSA Guidelines for Conducting a Reference InterviewGuidelines for Behavioral Performance of Reference and Information Service Providers as researched and written by Reference and User Services Association
- Marriott Library Service PrinciplesService principles and best practices for the Marriott Library. "Patron's Needs are the Focus of Each Person's Effort."
Resources
Conducting the Reference Interview by Call Number: Z711 .R64 2009ISBN: 9781555706555Publication Date: 2009-06-01The revised 2nd edition of this practical how-to for all types of librarians will teach you to understand the needs of public, academic, and special library users across any virtual setting--email, text messaging, and social networking Web sites--as welll as in traditional and face-to-face models of communication. Based on the latest research in communication theory, the book includes new exercises and examples to help you practice effective reference transactions and avoid common pitfalls. Guidance for helping users with special language-related needs (such as speech and hearing disabilities and English language learners) and social difficulties is also included, as are updated chapters on readers' advisory interviewing and policy and training procedures. An extensively revised chapter on virtual reference features new sections on live chat and instant messaging services as well as a discussion of Web 2.0 initiatives and updated information on email reference.
Defusing the Angry Patron by Call Number: Z711 .R79 2000ISBN: 1555703720Publication Date: 2000-01-01Does dealing with angry customers eat up staff time, increase stress at public service desks, and undermine morale? This work introduces the many causes and faces of anger as well as practical techniques for dealing with angry patrons. It covers handling frustration and confrontative behaviour.
Reference and Information Services by Call Number: Z711 .R443 2016ISBN: 9781440836961Publication Date: 2016-08-29Thoroughly updated, this is the essential guide to one of the most fundamental fields in the library profession. It links you-and through you, your patrons-to the significant changes that have occurred in reference and information sciences with emphasis on the growth of digital content. * Provides a comprehensive text edited by two highly regarded experts in reference and academic librarianship, Linda C. Smith and Melissa A. Wong, with chapters written by some of the best minds in the library science field * Includes newly updated information that reflects today's realities in reference service with an indication of how reference service may be provided to meet changing patron needs in the future * Encompasses the effective use of print sources, free online sources, and fee-based sources * Features individual chapters that can be used for in-service staff training or in student course packs
The Virtual Reference Handbook by Call Number: Z711.45 .K69 2007ISBN: 1555705987Publication Date: 2007-02-01IM, e-mail, and chat reference is already here, but have you adapted your traditional reference interview and information provision skills to these new formats? ACRL online trainer and popular Internet workshop leader Diane Kovacs has assembled this handbook to help reference librarians develop the communication skills and resources they need to work effectively in the virtual reference environment. The handbook shows how to adapt traditional face-to-face reference interview skills to the virtual interview-and how to interpret and use new cues (chat slang, IM shorthand, emoticons, etc.) to better serve your users. For both chat and e-mail transactions, Kovacs outlines strategies for analyzing the question, conducting the interview, developing a search strategy, and delivering sources. There is guidance for selecting the best information format for users and delivering content in a timely and valuable manner. This practical guide offers everything reference librarians need to move from the face-to-face to virtual transaction with ease.
