ULibraries Research Guides: Industry Standards &amp; Codes (ASTM, Fire, IEEE, ISO): Standard databases

Commonly Used Standards

We currently have campus-wide access to industry standards through Techstreet Enterprise (to see all, click on "View all products" under "Subscribed Products or see below), consisting of:

ASCE 7-22 - Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and Other Structures
ASHRAE 90.1-2022 (I-P) - Energy Standard for Sites and Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings
ASHRAE/ICC/USGBC/IES 189.1-2023 - Standard for the Design of High-Performance Green Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings
ASME Y14.100-2017 - Engineering Drawing Practices
ASME Y14.5-2018 - Dimensioning and Tolerancing
ASME Y14.8-2022 - Castings, Forgings, and Molded Parts
IEC 60601-1 Ed. 3.2 en:2020 - Medical electrical equipment - Part 1: General requirements for basic safety and essential performance CONSOLIDATED EDITION
IEC 60601-1-2 Ed. 4.1 b:2020 - Medical electrical equipment - Part 1-2: General requirements for basic safety and essential performance - Collateral Standard: Electromagnetic disturbances - Requirements and tests CONSOLIDATED EDITION
IEC/TS 63064 Ed. 1.0 en:2018 - Graphical symbols for diagrams - Guidance on design for standardization in IEC 60617

The standards available to current U of U faculty, staff, or students through Techstreet Enterprise vary from year to year based on campus need.

Standards & Codes Databases

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass contains, standards, journals, technical papers, manuals, and data series published by ASTM International. Additionally, most International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standards are available in ASTM Compass.

FDA's Recognized Consensus Standards Database
This database consists of national and international standards recognized by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, to which manufacturers can voluntarily declare conformity.

IEEE (Browse Standards) This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to standards dating back to 1988 from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the Institutions of Electrical Engineers (IEE), and Society of Motion Pictures & Television Engineers (STPTE) standards.
MAD CAD This link opens in a new window
MAD CAD is a reference database containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and industry guidelines. Various building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from NFPA are included in the collection. Results can be tailored to state and local areas.
Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new window
Techstreet Enterprise is a reference tool providing a small number of technical standards free to current U of U faculty, staff, and students. The standards provided vary from year to year.

You can view our complete list of standards databases, including legal standards, on our Databases A-Z list > Databases by Type > Standards.