Moving Image & Sound Archive: Home
About the Moving Image & Sound Archive
The Moving Image & Sound Archive is part of the Marriott Library's Special Collections Department. We collect and preserve video and audio recordings that document the history of Utah and the West. Predominantly original and unique and often unpublished, these time-based media collections offer the opportunity to hear the voices of the past and see historic scenes and artistic visions come to life. Originally recorded on a wide array of modern and historic formats, these materials are steadily being digitized so that students, faculty, staff, and community users can access them for research and entertainment.
The Moving Image & Sound Archive is open to everyone. Although some materials are temporarily unavailable because they are still stored on their original, analog formats, many are accessible from home. New content is added to the Digital Library on a regular basis. View and listen to our content there or contact an archivist to request audio or video that hasn't been uploaded yet.
Moving Image & Sound Collections streaming in the Digital Library
- University of Utah Basketball (A0002)
- Philosophical Issues in Human Affairs Telecourses (A0212)
- Dumke Family Home Movies (A0269)
- University of Utah Football (A0319)
- University of Utah Historic Films (A0341)
- University of Utah Dance Theses (A0365)
- O.L. "Brig" Tapp Amateur Films and Home Movies (A0938)
Moving Image & Sound Collections streaming to Campus Computers
Because of copyright considerations, these collections only stream to computers on the University of Utah campus with a hardwired internet connection (not over the wireless network). Access these collections at home by requesting a personal research copy from one of our archivists.
Moving Image & Sound Collections streaming to the Special Collections Reading Room
Because of copyright considerations, these collections only stream to the Reading Room on Level 4 of the Marriott Library. Access these collections at home by requesting a personal research copy from one of our archivists.
Other Library Multimedia
Not what you were looking for?
We focus on rare materials and obsolete formats. To find more readily available and commercial movies and albums in the library try the Knowledge Commons on Level 2. Audio-visual materials can also be found the library Catalog or Digital Collections.
For digitized multimedia from the University of Utah and throughout the region check out the Mountain West Digital Library.
ArtsForce: Careers in the Arts
by Greg Hatch Last Updated Jul 25, 2018 15 views this year
by Jessica Breiman Last Updated May 30, 2018 191 views this year
Copyright for the Fine & Performing Arts
by Greg Hatch Last Updated Aug 16, 2019 178 views this year
Digital Public Library of America
by Teresa Hebron Last Updated May 22, 2019 17 views this year
Film and Media Arts
by Greg Hatch Last Updated Mar 17, 2020 456 views this year
How to Find Media in the Marriott Library
by Joni Clayton Last Updated Sep 7, 2018 18 views this year
Images and Media for Research and Presentations
by Greg Hatch Last Updated Sep 7, 2018 256 views this year
Media Streaming Databases
by Mary Ann James Last Updated Mar 12, 2020 35 views this year
Moving Image & Sound Archive
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated Apr 9, 2020 242 views this year
by Robert Nelson Last Updated Aug 28, 2018 4 views this year
Utah Independent Film Archive
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated Apr 9, 2020 31 views this year
Utah Ski Archives
by Molly Rose Steed Last Updated Jan 22, 2020 173 views this year
by Greg Hatch Last Updated Mar 3, 2020 560 views this year