Education: Library and Research Resources
Library Databases -- Statistics
You may examine all of the library databases available for statistical research and analysis by selecting Article Databases and selecting Statistics/Data Resource using the By Type drop-down box. Below are a few selected from the list:
American Factfinder An online tool for searching U.S. Census datasets including: Decennial Census; American Community Survey; Puerto Rico Community Survey; Annual population estimates; Economic Census.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States: Major source for social, political, and economic statistics of the U.S. Links to earlier editions are provided as well. The print source is easier to use if you are tracking a trend.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) A unique selection of sociological and demographical data available to those affiliated with the University of Utah. Please note that ICSPR files are not available for downloading from library computers. They are available from other UU computers. The contact for instruction in how to use this database is Mark England.
There is an excellent guide on Demographic Statistics from the U.S. Census and other sources.
Another recommended guide is Social Science Data Resources.
The United States Education Dashboard: The Dashboard presents indicators in 4 areas that are critical to improving educational results and achieving the President's 2020 college attainment goal.
In-Library Research Methods & Statistics Sources
In-library Research Methods & Statistics Sources
Dictionary of qualitative inquiry (2001; print)
Dictionary of statistics & methodology : a nontechnical guide for the social sciences (1999; print)
Encyclopedia of evaluation (2005; print)
Encyclopedia of social measurement (2005; print)
Encyclopedia of statistical sciences (2006; print)
Evaluating research articles from start to finish (2001; print)
The concise encyclopedia of statistics (2008; online)
The SAGE encyclopedia of qualitative research methods (2008; online)
The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods (2004; print)
The Sage handbook of action research : participative inquiry and practice (2001; print)
Dictionary of Multicultural Education. Level 2, LC1099 .D53 1997 also available in electronic form via the library catalog
National Statistical Sources
Statistical Resources on the Web (University of Michigan)
EdStats (World Bank)
University of Utah Statistical Sources
Office of Equity and Diversity