Patents, Trademarks and Copyright: Web Resources

Other Web Resources

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)

US Patent and Trademark Office Home Page

USPTO's Web-based Searchable Patent Databases

Display of text and images for all U.S. patents from 1790 to the present.  All published U.S. patent applications from 2001 to the present.  Patents from 1976 to the present and all applications are fully text-searchable.  Full-text and images of all U.S. patents and applications may now be downloaded as Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) files.  The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is available here.

Other International Patent-Issuing Offices

Japanese Patent Office

European Patent Office (Includes searchable bibliographic information for U.S. patents from 1920 to present.)

Esp@cenet, Europe's Network of Patent Databases

Other Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs)

U. of Michigan (Ann Arbor)

Georgia Tech (Atlanta)

University of Texas at Austin

Oklahoma State University (Stillwater)

Vanderbilt University (Nashville)

Patent and Trademark Resource Center Association (PTRCA)

    Professional association for PTRC specialists.

Other Web-based Sources

Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information (4th ed., 2010)

'Patents and Trademarks', Dave Morrison, Marriott Library, University of Utah, presenting online as part of the '6-State Virtual Depository Library Conference,' August 2012.

The British Library on patents, trade marks & designs.

Community of Science  (available from University of Utah networked computers)

Delphion (previously the IBM Intellectual Property Network)

Esp@cenet, Europe's Network of Patent Databases

Freepatentsonline.com

"Currently my favorite non-USPTO patent search site!  Entering the same searches as the USPTO web databases will allow export of results into .xls spreadsheet files for easy sorting and display of inventors, companies, and patent classifications!"

Leina Leilani's collection of U.S. Patent Indexes on HathiTrust

http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/mb?a=listis;c=503653486

Pat2pdf.org

"A great place to acquire US patents in .pdf format!" (requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader).

Mike White's excellent US Patent Number Guide, which should have a shortcut on every IP researcher's desktop.

Early U.S. Patent Data in the United States Serial Set, Dave Morrison, Marriott Library, University of Utah.

Subject Specialist & PTRC Representative

Alfred Mowdood's picture
Alfred Mowdood

Ask the Library

  • 801-581-6273
  • Email
  • In-Person
  • Live Chat -
Contact:
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
(801) 585-7125

Pronouns: he, him, his
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library