Learning Abroad: Costa Rica
Information about Costa Rica
- CIA World Factbook - Costa RicaUS Central Intelligence Agency's summary of information about Costa Rica. Includes maps and flags as well as geographic data, economic summaries, and military information.
- BBC Country Profile - Costa RicaA profile of Costa Rica created by the BBC.
- US State Department Travel Information - Costa RicaUS State Department travel information for Costa Rica.
- Embassy of the United States - San Jose, Costa RicaWebsite for the US Embassy in San Jose, Costa Rica.
Sightseeing
- Visit Costa RicaOfficial website for Costa Rica's tourism ministry . Browse this site to learn about popular destinations in the country and different activities you can participate in.
- NY Times' Costa Rica Travel GuideThe New York Times' travel guide for sightseeing in Costa Rica. Find information on various sites and local attractions.
Related Library Guides
Costa Rica Travel & Culture Guides
Globetrotter's Costa Rica by Browsing Collection, Level 1: F1543.5 .M43 2011
This guide is packed with useful information, tips and recommendations, accompanied by color photographs, charts and maps for the first-time traveler who wants to experience the major highlights that Costa Rica has to offer. The fold-out map of Costa Rica is ideal for tourists and visitors.
Note: These books are available for you to use before leaving the U--please do not take library books with you on your learning abroad trip. eBooks can be accessed online while on your trip.
Fodor's Costa Rica 2012Browsing Collection, Level 1: F1543.5 .F63 2012
Customize your trip with simple planning tools: convenient overview of each region and its highlights; practical advice for getting around; easy-to-read color regional maps; and illustrated features on snorkeling and diving, canopy tours, and best beaches. Plan your trip with the extra peace of mind that comes from knowing each of Fodor's expert selections is reinforced by consumer experience and feedback.
Open Road's Best of Costa Rica by Browsing Collection, Level 1: F1543.5 .M67 2012
This guide gives readers the perfect amount of great choices and itineraries for traveling to any part of beautiful Costa Rica. Only the best is included, with fun ideas for eco-touring in Monteverde Cloud Forest and Tortuguero, exploring the wilds in Corcovado National Park, where to watch the sea turtles nesting, which are the best Pacific Coast beaches, a guide to the wildlife of Costa Rica, and much more.
Costa Rica: the Complete Guide by General Collection, Level 2: F1543.5 .C77 2013
From pristine beaches and jungle waterfalls to high-altitude coffee plantations, award-winning author and photographer James Kaiser shows readers the best of Costa Rica, including the country's stunning collection of national parks. Filled with rich details and hundreds of high-quality color photographs, this guide, which provides fascinating chapters on the country's unique history, culture, ecology, and wildlife, is sure to appeal to anyone looking for more than just restaurant and hotel reviews.
Living Abroad in Costa Rica by General Collection, Level 2: F1543.5 .V36 2004
Imagine yourself living in Costa Rica. You stroll home past lush vegetation after a long day of surfing. You know the locals and speak Spanish with ease. You show visiting friends around with the confidence of one who belongs. Author Erin Van Rheenen shows you how to make your dream take shape. She left her life as a guidebook editor in the San Francisco Bay Area to make a home abroad in Costa Rica.
Language Help
Livemocha is a free online language learning resource that can help you brush up on your foreign language skills before traveling abroad. This resource combines traditional language learning methods, online practice, and interaction with native language speakers from around the world. Click here to sign up for a free account.
Costa Rica
News
- The Tico TimesAn English-language online newspaper from Costa Rica.
- Diario ExtraWebsite for one of the largest newspapers in Costa Rica (Spanish language).
- BBC News - Latin AmeriaWebsite for the BBC News in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Programs in Costa Rica
Some of the learning abroad programs in Costa Rica currently offered. Check the Learning Abroad website for a complete list.
Ask a Librarian!
