Learning Abroad: Australia
Information about Australia
- CIA World Factbook - AustraliaUS Central Intelligence Agency's summary of information about Australia. Includes maps and flags as well as geographic data, economic summaries, and military information.
- A Brief History of AustraliaAn eBook on the history of Australia that looks at social, cultural, economic, and political trends in the country's long history.
- US State Department Travel Information - AustraliaUS State Department travel information for Australia.
- Embassy of the United States - AustraliaWebsite for the US Embassy in Australia.
- BBC Country Profile - AustraliaHistorical and current facts about the Australia, produced by the BBC.
Sightseeing
- Australia TourismWebsite by Australia's ministry of tourism. Use the links to learn about the history and geography of Australia as well as the many parts of the country to visit.
- NY Times' Australia Travel GuideThe New York Times' travel guide for sightseeing in the Australia. Find information on various cities and local attractions.
- Trip Advisor - AustraliaTrip Advisor provides information on popular destinations in Australia, including numerous photos and restaurants details.
Australia Travel & Culture Guides
Note: These books are available for you to use before leaving the U--please do not take library books with you on your learning abroad trip. eBooks can be accessed online while on your trip.
Living and Working in Australia by General Collection, Level 2: DU107 .H3 2013
Written in an entertaining style with a touch of humor, Living and Working in Australia is designed to provide newcomers with the practical information necessary for a relatively trouble-free life. It is packed with vital information and insider tips to help minimize culture shock and reduce the newcomer's rookie period to a minimum.
Frommer's Australia (2011) by Available as an eBook by clicking the title link above.
Frommer's Australia is packed with all the facts, tips, and descriptions you need to have a perfect visit. Features gorgeous full-color photos of the Outback vistas, curious wildlife, and white-sand beaches that await you.
Culture Shock! Australia by General Collection, Level 2: DU107 .S53 1997
Get the nuts-and-bolts information you need to survive and thrive wherever you go. "Culture Shock!" country guides are easy-to-read, accurate, and entertaining crash courses in local customs and etiquette.
Historical Dictionary of Australia by General Collection, Level 2: DU90 .D63 2007
Through a detailed chronology, an introduction, appendixes, a bibliography, and cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant people, places, and events; institutions and organizations; and political, economic, social, cultural, and religious facets, James C. Docherty provides a much-needed single-volume reference on Australia, from its most unpromising beginning as a British jail to the liberal, tolerant democracy it is today.
Australia
News
- The AustralianWebsite for the largest national newspaper in Australia.
- The Sydney Morning HeraldPublished daily in Sydney, this is the oldest newspaper in Australia.
Programs in Australia
Some of the learning abroad programs in the Australia currently offered. Check the Learning Abroad website for a complete list.
Ask a Librarian!
