Learning Abroad: China
Information about China
- CIA World Factbook - ChinaUS Central Intelligence Agency's summary of information about China. Includes maps and flags as well as geographic data, economic summaries, and military information.
- The History of ChinaA general survey of Chinese society's long history, ranging from accounts of ancient Chinese civilization, to coverage of the individual dynasties of imperial China, through China's whirlwind transition to modernity and its belated arrival in the international community.
- US State Department Travel Information - ChinaUS State Department travel information for China
- Embassy of the United States - Beijing, ChinaWebsite for the US Embassy in Beijing, China.
Related Library Guides
China Travel & Culture Guides
Note: These books are available for you to use before leaving the U--please do not take library books with you on your learning abroad trip. eBooks can be accessed online while on your trip.
Frommer's China (2012) by Available as an eBook by clicking the title link above.
Frommer's China guides you to the highlights of this vast and varied land, and includes our authors' insider advice on the best experiences, from hiking through some of the most spectacular scenery on the planet to visiting traditional imperial sights.
CultureShock! China by General Collection, Level 2: DS779.23 .E19 2011
CultureShock! is a bestselling series of culture and etiquette guides covering countless destinations around the world. For anyone at risk of culture shock, whether a tourist or a longterm resident, CultureShock! provides a sympathetic and fun-filled crash course on the do's and don'ts in foreign cultures.
Country Driving: a Chinese Road Trip by General Collection, Level 2: DS712 .H457 2011
Peter Hessler, whom the Wall Street Journal calls "one of the Western world's most thoughtful writers on modern China," deftly illuminates the vast, shifting landscape of a traditionally rural nation that, having once built walls against foreigners, is now building roads and factory towns that look to the outside world.
Kosher Chinese: Living, Teaching, and Eating with China's Other Billion by Browsing Collection, Level 1: DS712 .L48 2011
An irreverent tale of an American Jew serving in the Peace Corps in rural China, which reveals the absurdities, joys, and pathos of a traditional society in flux.
Interncontinental's Best of China by General Collection, Level 2: DS712 .L385 2008
An extensive guide of the various regions of China, broaching language, customs, foods, and daily life in addition to the various sites profiled.
Lonely Planet's China (2007) by General Collection, Level 2: DS705 .C456 2007
First-time visitors and China travel veterans alike will get sound advice on hotels, sights and transport. Local Chinese contributors help get readers under the skin of their country.
Language Help
Livemocha is a free online language learning resource that can help you brush up on your foreign language skills before traveling abroad. This resource combines traditional language learning methods, online practice, and interaction with native language speakers from around the world. Click here to sign up for a free account.
China
News
- China DailyWebsite for an English-language newspaper out of Beijing.
- Shanghai DailyWebsite for an English-language newspaper out of Shanghai.
- BBC News- ChinaWebsite for the BBC News in China.
Programs in China
Some of the learning abroad programs in China currently offered. Check the Learning Abroad website for a complete list.
Ask a Librarian!
