LEAP 1100 Fall 2021 - Professor Borup

The National Negro Congress was established in 1936 to "secure the right of the Negro people to be free from Jim Crowism, segregation, discrimination, lynching, and mob violence" and "to promote the spirit of unity and cooperation between Negro and white people." It was conceived as a national coalition of church, labor, and civil rights organizations that would coordinate protest action in the face of deteriorating economic conditions for blacks.

A part of the Accessible Archives collection, this database provides access to a selection of prominent African-American newspapers. The Marriott Library has purchased access to a portion of this database which includes papers like Freedom's Journal, The North Star, Colored American, National Era, Frederick Douglass Paper, Provincial Freeman, The Christian Recorder, and the Douglass Monthly Supplement. The Archives also include a rotatin…

America: History and Life indexes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is a strong bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. This database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. The predominantly English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and…

Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals. To search across all of The University of Utah's Adam Matthew collections go to Adam Matthew collections.

Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.

This database contains many types of material on Mexican-American topics, Chicanos, and the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The collection focuses on subjects relating to art, bilingual education, health, history, labor, language, literature, mental health, and politics. There are over 2000 journals and 60,000 records in the database, covering these topics from the late 1960's to the present.

The Civil Rights Congress (CRC) was established in 1946 to, among other things, "combat all forms of discrimination against…labor, the Negro people and the Jewish people, and racial, political, religious, and national minorities." The CRC arose out of the merger of three groups with ties to the Communist Party, the International Labor Defense (ILD), the National Negro Congress, and the National Federation for Constitutional Liberties. CRC campaigns helped pioneer many of the tactics that civil rights movement activists would employ in the late 1950s and 1960s. The CRC folded in 1955 under pressure from the U.S. Attorney General and the House Un-American Activities Committee, which accused the organization of being subversive. 115,378 images Source Library:Schomburg Center, New York Public Library

Designed to support U.S. history studies and provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

This database is composed of survey data from the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) on democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean). Survey results are incorporated into the database as they become available (surveys are conducted every two years), and the collection currently includes the results of over 80,000 interviews in over 25 countries.

Major campaigns for equal access to education, voting, employment, housing and the military are covered in this module. The education files in this module document the NAACP’s systematic assault on segregated education that culminated in Brown v. Board of Education in 1954. Files from 1955 –1965 focus on the NAACP’s efforts to implement the Brown decision as well as to combat de facto segregation outside of the South.

NOTE: User registration (free) is required for this database.

Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand a variety of data, including average household incomes, population density, gender distribution, marital status, occupations, and more.