ULibraries Research Guides: Utah Asia Campus (UAC) Library Support: Special Collections

What is Special Collections?

Special Collections is the part of the library that contains books, manuscripts, photographs, and other materials that are especially old, rare, unique, and valuable. These items preserve the actions, thoughts, and beliefs of people in the past and can help us learn about our shared human cultural heritage.

Finding Special Collections Materials

Special Collections items can be found in the online library catalog. Once you do a general search, you may need to filter your search results.

In the "Tweak My Results" sidebar, select Availability --> Available in the Library --> Apply Filters
Then, select Location --> Marriott Library Special Collections --> Apply Filters

Only some of our items can be viewed online. However, we are often able to scan items and provide you with digital reproductions. To request reproductions of collection items, please fill out this form. A member of the Special Collections team will respond to you within a few days.

Digitized Special Collections

Digitized Special Collections items can be found in the J. Willard Marriott Digital Library. You can do a general search or browse suggested topics. Clicking on the topics will show you a list of collections that may be useful for your research.

Topics that may be most relevant to Utah Asia Campus courses include:

Architecture
Art History
Correspondence (personal letters)
Diaries
Oral Histories (interviews)
Photographs
Rare Books

Special Collections Subscription Databases

The Marriott Library subscribes to many databases that contain special collections items and primary source documents from libraries, archives, and museums around the world. The ones listed here may be the most relevant for UAC students. The full database list is available here.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
This database contains all the materials the library provides access to through Accessible Archives. Some of the materials in this database (African American Newspapers, Pennsylvania Gazette, etc.) are owned outright by the library and have their own listings elsewhere in the database listings, but this entry will give you access to the content we subscribe to on a temporary basis as well. Accessible Archives is made up of a number of digitized historical newspapers which cover a range of topics, but which generally focus on early American history.
This database contains all the materials the library provides access to through Accessible Archives. Some of the materials in this database (African American Newspapers, Pennsylvania Gazette, etc.) are owned outright by the library and have their own listings elsewhere in the database listings, but this entry will give you access to the content we subscribe to on a temporary basis as well. Accessible Archives is made up of a number of digitized historical newspapers which cover a range of topics, but which generally focus on early American history.
Adam Matthew Primary Source Collections This link opens in a new window
Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world.
Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 This link opens in a new window
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals. To search across all of The University of Utah's Adam Matthew collections go to Adam Matthew collections.
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals. To search across all of The University of Utah's Adam Matthew collections go to Adam Matthew collections.
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity LGBTQ History and Culture (Part I & II) This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 consists of 20 individual collections, with a total page count of nearly one and a half million pages. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990. Although most materials are in English, the archive contains periodicals in German, Polish, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, French, Italian, Hebrew, Indonesian, and other languages. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives, the largest lesbian-focused archives in the world; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.
The Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 consists of 20 individual collections, with a total page count of nearly one and a half million pages. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990. Although most materials are in English, the archive contains periodicals in German, Polish, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, French, Italian, Hebrew, Indonesian, and other languages. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives, the largest lesbian-focused archives in the world; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.
Cambridge Archive Editions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Archive Editions Online (CAEO) is a documentary, primary source ebook collection on political, territorial, and ethnic issues from the 18th – 20th centuries covering four broad regions of the world, including Near and Middle East (120 titles, 966 volumes); Slavic, Balkan, and Caucasus (11 titles, 56 volumes); East and Southeast Asia (9 titles, 92 volumes); and North America (1 title, 9 volumes).
The CAEO is a digital presentation of the well-known and respected series of British archival reprints found in the National Archive (UK). The collection includes selected documents from the British Government records that create an accurate survey of a historical period, political movement, or a country’s development. The collection has been published over 25 years and includes over 1,000 volumes, nearly 700,000 pages of primary sources, and over 750 maps.”
Colonial America Modules 1,4 & 5 This link opens in a new window
Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
Mountain West Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Mountain West Digital Library is an aggregation of digital collections from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, and historical societies in Utah, Nevada, and Idaho. Hosting institutions each run servers supporting their own digital collections and support partner institutions by providing scanning and hosting services. The Mountain West defines the region of contributors, but the content extends beyond the Mountain West and into different fields.
National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
From its founding in 1888, the National Geographic Society has grown into an organization synonymous with exploration, photography, maps, and rethinking the world as we know it. From the iconic National Geographic magazine archive view hundreds of books, maps, videos and images.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the searchable text of the New York Times from 1851-2016. Many parts of the text besides the articles themselves are also searchable, including short items like stock quotes, broadcast schedules, display and classified ads. Articles can be displayed in their page context and one can read through an issue page by page.
United States Congressional Documents This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Congressional Documents Collection provides access to a large collection of information and documents related to the United States Congress. Records of debates, proceedings, speeches, treaties, and more are included. Each record is available as a full-text, searchable PDF, and the collection is updated frequently with new information.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women's stories to light, the Women's Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale's Women's Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women's History, Gender Studies and Social History.
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
This database contains a searchable collection of digital replicas of newspapers published in English and a variety of other languages. The collection focuses on the history and politics of diverse peoples and cultures during the 19th and early 20th centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony or death notices and more. Includes Latin American and South Asian Newspapers.