This guide contains resources for faculty and instructors in health sciences, including those enrolled in programs to develop expertise as an educator.
Welcome to the Eccles Library Research Guide for health professions education. Start your search here, with some of our most popular resources, or find more resources in the tabs above or box below.
Comprehensive, free database which also includes articles about educating learners in health and biomedical sciences. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
A large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents, especially good for looking at references and citations of articles of interest.
Multi-disciplinary (science, social sciences, arts, & humanities) database that indexes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. Excellent for citation chaining.
MedEdPORTAL Publications promotes educational scholarship and collaboration by facilitating the open exchange of peer-reviewed health education teaching and assessment resources.
A large resource of peer-reviewed literature in psychology, including educational psychology.
APA PsycInfo is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes citations and summaries from various journals, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Also covers related disciplines including sociology, education, business, economics, and law.
Coverage spans from 1800 - present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
A combination of two comprehensive education databases - Education Full Text and ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center).
This listing provides access to the combined content of EBSCO's ERIC and Education Full Text databases. ERIC (The Education Resources Information Center) focuses on education literature and resources. ERIC lists citations and abstracts for over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals, as well as annotated bibliographic records, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 200,000 full-text documents from ERIC. Education Full Text (EFT) provides coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. EFT contains the full text of articles with indexing cover to cover from hundreds of journals. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC’s CIJE. PDF page images accompany full text articles, offering both words and images. Subjects covered by these databases include Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-Based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education.
VisualDx is decision support software designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases, including drug reactions. See the image use policy for guidance on using images for course materials.
This database abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The collection contains abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 publications, and provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years (1952-1962) have been added to the database. Many records from j…
Embase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.
Anatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Controls allow users to zoom, rotate and peel away layers from the models. MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement the computer-generated models.
Explore online leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Updated regularly, AccessPharmacy gives instant access to videos, self-assessment,
and leading pharmacy textbooks .
MedEdPORTAL Publications promotes educational scholarship and collaboration by facilitating the open exchange of peer-reviewed health education teaching and assessment resources.
