Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Open Access Journals?
From the Directory of Open Access Journals website: "We define open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. From the BOAI definition  of "open access" we take the right of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles" as mandatory for a journal to be included in the directory. "
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. The journal must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included.
Click here to view Open Access Journals across many disciplines.
Google Scholar Search Box
You are able to search Google Scholar from this box. It is also available on the Article Databases tab (Marriott Library's home page) or on the Open Web. Be sure to set your Google Scholar Preferences so that you can directly link to full-text resources available at the Marriott Library.
- Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com/
2. Google Scholar has changed its look at scholar.google.com. To link to U of U holdings, please do the following:
- Click on “Settings” in the upper right corner. You will see links for My Citations, Metrics, Alerts, and Settings
- Click on “Library Links” tab on the left hand side
- Type in Utah and click on “Find Library”
- A new feature is that you can select up to 5 libraries at once
- Click on the Save button
- When using computers in library public spaces, you will have to set this each and every tim
- See libguide http://campusguides.lib.utah.edu/scholar
In Google Scholar, notice that there is a new feature titled “Metrics”
a. This will give you the H index of journals.
b. For more information, see http://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/metrics.html
c. As an FYI, keep your eyes open for a new libguide titled “Bibliometrics and Impact Factor” by Lorelei Rutledge.
NOTE: On February 1, 2012, Education Full Text and ERIC (EBSCO) will unite into one database, ERIC (EBSCO).
Education Full-Text with ERIC
This listing provides access to the combined content of EBSCO's ERIC and Education Full Text (EFT) databases. EFT contains the full text of articles with indexing cover to cover from hundreds of journals. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC’s CIJE.
Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics from the Educational Resources Information Center. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. 1966 to the present. Search this database on your mobile device!
ERIC (Dept. of Education)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, that consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature selected by ERIC from 1966 - 2003. Now includes access to full-text materials formerly available through EDRS.
Contains citations and summaries from the world's serial and book literature in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, including sociology, education, business, economics, and law. It includes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, citations to dissertations, and some full text articles.
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, the database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. From the American Psychological Association (APA). Search this database on your mobile device!
Additional Scholarly Databases
Dissertation & Theses Global
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Use this link from off campus, which will route your session through our proxy server, and thus make sure that links within Google Scholar work.
With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR provides easy access to full-text content. Does not include the most recent articles from the included journals.
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Search this database on your mobile device!
Formerly SocioFile, now including the full Sociological Abstracts, this database covers sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, conference papers, and book reviews.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process. Scopus offers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers, over 1200 Open Access journals, 520 conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, 36 million records.
Web of Knowledge
A large, multidisciplinary database which allows cited reference searching.