Museums & Athletes: Field of Vision: MLA
Library Guides and Web Resources
- Style and Citation ManualsThis guide also contains call numbers and links to the catalog records of the guides in the Knowledge Commons Ready Reference Collection on the 2nd Floor of Marriott Library.
- NoodleTools"In short, NoodleTools will help you create and produce a perfectly stylized bibliography for each research paper or project that you must develop for any of your classes that require APA, MLA or Chicago/Turabian style as a standard for documentation (i.e., your citations)."
- Endnote and Endnote Web SupportEndNote remains the favored, time-saving solution for organizing references and creating instant bibliographies.
- Purdue OWLThis website provides examples for citing visual and multimedia sources, and covers the basics of MLA formatting and citation style.
- Reed College Image Workstation HelpThis website covers the basics of citing visual images in MLA, APA and Chicago styles.
- Cite SourceAn excellent citation resource that provides useful information and examples for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Welcome!
MLA handbook for writers of research papersLVL 2: Knowledge Commons Ready Reference
LB2369 .G53 2009
MLA is generally used by the humanities disciplines (Literature, Performing and Visual Arts, Languages, etc.). For more information, consult the guide directly.
Using and Citing Images and Visuals
Images and illustrations should be labeled as figures and numbered in the order in which they are referred to in the text (in-text, refer to the images by figure number e.g see fig. 3). If your image is a table or musical score, different formatting rules apply (consult the MLA handbook for more information). The figure number should appear beneath the image and be followed by a caption, which should include a brief title, and/or an explanation of the figure, and source information. If all images and visuals contain a full citation in the caption, there is no need for a separate entry in the Works Cited page.
Basic format for a caption: Artist or Creator Name (First Last), Title of Work, Date of Work, Institution/Org./Company holding work, Institution City; Citation for Source of Image (web, database, book, etc.)
For instance:
Fig. 5. From a series the artist began in 1949 titled "Homage to the Square." Josef Albers, Homage to the Square: New Light, 1967, The Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago; The Art Institute of Chicago, Web, 12 January 2012.
NOTE: MLA no longer requires URLs; however, you may want to use them if the work will be difficult to find without this information.
