ULibraries Research Guides: Urban Ecology LEAP Guide: Lesson 3 (October 30): Advanced Research: Databases

Specialized Architecture-related Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes journal articles on the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
ARTstor
Provides curated collections of more than 2 million images of art, architecture, artifacts, and primary documents, including costume and set renderings, playbills, production photos, etc. Time periods range from ancient to modern and geographic locations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. (Off-campus? Read "More" information below.)
more...less...
This database is provided through a subscription paid by Marriott Library. It can be accessed by anyone using a computer on-campus. For off-campus use, faculty and students must first register an account within the ARTstor database while on-campus.
MAD CAD
MAD CAD is a state-of-the-art subscription based reference database online, containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions and, guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA.
EiVillage / Engineering Village 2
Excellent resource for civil, mechanical, and structural engineers. Access to Compendex, Inspec, NTIS, CRCENGnetBASE, USPTO, Esp@cenet, and Scirus web search available through this interface.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world in virtually all areas of art, architecture, and archaeology. 1984-current. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
Art Index Retrospective
Same as "Art Full Text," above, but covers 1929-1984 and provides citations and abstracts only.

Cross-Discipline & Subject-Specific Databases

The following databases index interdisciplinary, scholarly literature. To search for articles limited to a specific discipline--environmental studies, sociology, psychology, economics, etc.--go to the complete list of University of Utah research databases, also linked from the Marriott Library homepage, and choose from the "Database by Subject" list.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study, Academic Search Ultimate focuses on a range of subjects including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion/theology, and more. Academic Search Ultimate indexes more than 17,000 periodicals and includes full-text articles from more than 10,000 journals, nearly 6,800 more journals than Academic Search Premier. Academic Search Ultimate was acquired primarily for its full-text journal articles in science, engineering, and health sciences.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text, online access to an historic archive of scholarly journals covering topics in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. In most cases, date ranges start with the first year of publication for the journal and run up to about 5 years ago.
Project Muse
Full text coverage of more than 150 journals published by university presses, with a collection specifically geared toward film, theater, and the performing arts. Coverage: 1993-present.
SCOPUS
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. It indexes peer-reviewed journals, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, scientific web pages, and patent records. Provides links to full-text articles in other databases and library resources.
more...less...
Scopus must be accessed while inside the Marriott Library, or you must obtain a password from your librarian.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science
A multidisciplinary citation database which covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals, and conference proceedings. Current and retrospective coverage is provided for the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Search Construction Tips

The following is a brief overview of various ways to construct and rework your search statement in databases. Remember that each database may vary in its search function. HELP menus in databases often provide tutorials and information about searching.

KEYWORD SEARCHING ....

Use Boolean operators to construct a complex search statement

use AND to connect required concepts, this will narrow your search. cats AND dogs will search for records with both terms.

use OR to connect synonyms, this will expand your search. cats OR dogs will search for records with either term.

use NOT to omit specific terms.

Use the truncation symbol ( * ) after a word stem so that multiple spellings will be searched

art* will search art, arts, artists, artistic, artwork, artworks ….

Using “exact phrase” (quotation marks) instructs a database to search for just that -- the exact phrase. The search will not skip over small words such as a, an, the, of and so on.

"Linking Program and Concept in Land Planning and Design" -- will search for this exact title

Use the limiters offered by databases

limit by format, date, language, scholarly articles, full-text access, and so on

SUBJECT SEARCHING ....

Use subject terms associated with citations you find most relevant as a way to revise your search statement. Subject terms are often located in the full details view or in a sidebar feature of a database or library catalog.

Refer to the selected Library of Congress Subject Terms in the left sidebar of this guide for suggestions.

IN GENERAL ....

It is generally best to be very specific when searching, that is to say, construct complex search statements using the advanced search option. In some cases, however, you'll need to back up and try a more general or broad search. The point to take away here is searching and the research process is iterative -- be patient, keep reworking your search, and consult a librarian if you're just not having any luck.