Multi-Disciplinary Design

The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background material; interviews a range of sources; synthesizes available information; and writes the report. The report's writer quotes a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue. The report concludes with a bibliography that contains an annotated list of key sources.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides access to millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, available from 1861 to the present day. The database offers the full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for many older graduate works. Over a million of these dissertations are available for download in PDF format, and over 2.1 million are available for purchase as printed copies. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertation publishing partnerships with over 700 academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.

This database provides access to the combined contents of ComIndex and ComAbstracts, provided by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS). The collection contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field, drawn from indexes of over 150 professional communication journals. In addition, articles from EJC/REC: The Electronic Journal of Communication / La Revue Electronique de Communication, the Journal of Communication and Religion and the International Journal of Listening can be accessed via the CIOS Web page.

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides access to the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource for the communication disciplines. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“coreâ€) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priorityâ€) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. This database includes full text for over 450 journals.

APA PsycInfo is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It includes citations and summaries from various journals, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Also covers related disciplines including sociology, education, business, economics, and law.

Coverage spans from 1800 - present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Art Full Text is a database that features full-text articles, abstracting and indexing of a number of peer-selected publications, podcasts, and page images. The subjects covered by this database include fine, decorative, and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, architecture, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. The database also indexes a growing selection of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art. The full text is provided for articles from more than 270 periodicals as far back as 1997, along with indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals as far back as 1984 (including 260 peer-reviewed journals), as well as over 18,000 art dissertations, art reproduction records, and more. The database is updated daily and as new information is available.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, green design, sustainable development, and interior design/decoration. The database contains over 700 American and international journals (including scholarly and popular periodical literature), publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and serials on architecture and design from Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Some of the publications included in this collection are American Architect, Domus, Dwell, El Croquis, and more. The Avery Index also contains references to more than 13,000 obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with a source of biographical and professional information about architects. The database is updated weekly, and contains over 650,000 records.

The EECS Technical Memorandum Series provides a dated archive of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) research. It includes Ph.D. theses and master's reports as well as technical documents that complement traditional publication media such as journals. For example, technical reports may document work in progress, early versions of results that are eventually published in more traditional media, and supplemental information such as long proofs, software documentation, code listings, or elaborated examples. Technical reports listed here include the EECS Technical Report series (started in October 2005), the CS Technical Report series (from 1982 to 2005), and the ERL Technical report series (from 1984 to 2005, plus selected titles from before 1984). The full text is included for the EECS and CS series, but not for the ERL series.

This link provides access to the content of two databases from Engineering Village, Compendex and Inspec. Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields. More than 650,000 new records are added to the database annually from over 190 disciplines and major specialties within engineering. Compendex is updated weekly. Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 11.2 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Approximately 600,000 new records are added to the database annually. Inspec's online coverage is from 1969 to the present, and records are updated weekly.

Some of the journals in this database are the ACM Computing Surveys, ACM Journal of Computer Documentation, ACM Journal on Emerging Technologies in Computing Systems, Journal of Data and Information Quality, Journal of Experimental Algorithmics, Journal of the ACM, Journal on Computing and Cultural Heritage, and the Journal on Educational Resources in Computing.

Arcive Only. Effective July 31st, 2013, Compendex is limited to archive-only access and is not updated with new information (see coverage date above for details). Access to current information in Compendex is available through Scopus.

Compendex is a bibliographic database of engineering research which contains over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 6,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical papers. The subjects covered by this database include nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.

Inspec is a bibliographic database providing access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains over 23 million bibliographic records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Inspec's online coverage is from 1898 to the present, and records are updated weekly, with approximately 600,000 new records added to the database annually.