Multi-Disciplinary Design
Online Journals
Design Studies: The Interdisciplinary Journal of Design Research: An international academic journal focused on developing understanding of design processes. It studies design activity across all domains of application, including engineering and product design, architectural and urban design, computer artifacts and systems design.
Design Principles & Practice: An International Journal: Explores the meaning and purpose of design and provides information about the task of design and the use of designed artifacts.
Display & Design Ideas: Provides innovative retail store design solutions, new product information, news for store planners, designers, and visual merchandisers.
Design Issues: The first American journal to examine design history, theory, and criticism. This journal provokes inquiry into the cultural and intellectual issues surrounding design.
Journal of Mechanical Design (New York, N.Y): The ASME Journal of Mechanical Design (JMD) serves the broad design community as the venue for scholarly, archival research in all aspects of the design activity with emphasis on design synthesis. JMD has traditionally served the ASME Design Engineering Division and its technical committees, but it welcomes contributions from all areas of design with emphasis on synthesis. JMD communicates original contributions, primarily in the form of research articles of considerable depth but also technical briefs, design innovation papers, book reviews, and editorials.
VLSI Design: VLSI Design is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that presents state-of-the-art papers in VLSI design, computer-aided design, design analysis, design implementation, simulation and testing. Theory as well as applications are discussed. Its scope also includes papers that address technical trends, pressing issues, and educational aspects in VLSI Design.
Books
The Culture of Design by Call Number: NK1390 .J848 2014ISBN: 9781446273586Publication Date: 2013-12-27What is the social impact of design? How do culture and economics shape the objects and spaces we take for granted? How do design objects, designers, producers and consumers interrelate to create experience? How do new networks of communication and technology change the design process? Thoroughly revised, this new edition: explores the iPhone digs deep into the digital with a new chapter on networks and mobile technologies provides a new chapter on studying design culture explores the relationship of design to management and the creative industries supports students with a revamped website and all new exercises This is an essential companion for students of design, the creative industries, visual culture, material culture and sociology.
Design Science Research by ISBN: 9783319073743Publication Date: 2014-08-19Consolidating existing knowledge in Design Science, this book proposes a new research method to aid the exploration of design and problem solving within business, science and technology. It seeks to overcome a dichotomy that exists in the field between theory and practice to enable researches to find solutions to problems, rather than focusing on the explanation and exploration of the problems themselves. Currently, researches concentrate on to describing, exploring, explaining and predicting phenomena, and little attention is devoted to prescribing solutions. Herbert Simon proposes the need to develop a Science of the Artificial (Design Science), arguing that our reality is much more artificial than natural. However, the research conducted on the Design Science premises has so far been scattered and erratic in different fields of research, such as management, systems information and engineering. This book aims to address this issue by bringing these fields together and emphasising the need for solutions. This book provides a valuable resource to students and researchers of research methods, information systems, management and management science, and production and operations management.
A Dictionary of Modern Design by Call Number: NK1165 .W66 2004ISBN: 0192800973Publication Date: 2005-02-17This fascinating new dictionary covers the period from the mid-nineteenth to the end of the twentieth century. It contains over 2,000 entries on names and movements from the past 150 years of design including ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design, interiors, and fashion, as well as biographical information on influential designers, manufacturers, major museums and heritage sites. The dictionary also covers major movements, key concepts, design terminology, and important design institutions of international focus. Features include funky illustrations at every letter's opening page, with zeitgeist design concepts from Action Man and Barbie, to Ferrari and Electrolux. Complete with vivid illustrations this is an essential addition to every designer's and artist's studio shelf.
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Design since 1900 by ISBN: 9781782683940Publication Date: 2008-02-13
