University of Utah Library Guides
All University of Utah libraries course and research guides, in one place.
J. Willard Marriott Library Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library James E. Faust Library

Main Guide

Commonly used boxes to be mapped onto any guide! Only your LibGuides admin will update links as they change. If you see a box/page that needs updating, please contact Tallie Casucci

Need help? Contact us

chat loading...

Phone: 801-581-6273
Email
In-Person
Schedule a Research Consultation
More Subject Guides

Librarian Contact Info

Profile Photo
Alfred Mowdood
he/him/his
Contact:
The University of Utah
J. Willard Marriott Library
Head of Faculty Services,
Representative, Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), Adjunct Professor in Parks, Recreation, & Tourism, and
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Kinesiology
295 South 1500 East #2110 R
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0860
alfred.mowdood@utah.edu
(801) 585-7125

Pronouns: he/him/his

How to use Scopus

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily and contains over 70 million records. Scopus indexes over 23,400 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 publishers, including 5500 open access journals. Scopus also indexes 294 trade publications, over 120,000 conferences, and 210,000 books. Additionally, the database contains 44 million patent records from the US Patent & Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization, and the UK Intellectual Property Office.
 

To use Scopus:

1. Go to the library homepage at lib.utah.edu and log in in the upper right corner with your uNID and password.

This image shows the Marriott Library homepage with the log in button in the upper right corner circled

 

2. Click on the Databases Tab above the search box.

This image shows the Marriott Library homepage with the link to Databases circled

 

3. Click on the letter S

4. Click on the red title link in the results page.

 

5. In Scopus page, you can type your key words in search box. You also can add a new box and use boolean search operators (AND, OR and AND NOT) like dermatology AND "skin diseases" and NOT scars. Than click Search button at below right side.

6. You can limit the results by facets on the left side by many things including year (for last 10 years), by Subject area, Document type, Source title and country. For more details about a specific resource in the result, you can click on Find It which is specified by green circle in below image.

 

7. If you want to find results related to your topic, Scopus helps you, finds the abstracts and related documents, and searches and tracks the author's publications. Scopus also provides author's details and a list of the author's most recent documents. This database creates a graph for a quick view of the author's citations and documents per year. It also provides references the author has used in his/her documents. Click on the title of an article to see the amazing information.

 

8. To export the results to the EndNote, first select the desired ones and then click on Export button on the top. On the next page, select the RIS Format EndNote and, then, click on the Export button on the left below.

 

9. Then go to your EndNote and click on Collect then on Import Reference. Browse to find the citation in your computer (Download section). Select the Scopus. If you do not have it, add it from Select Favorites. Select your folder to import the citations.

 

10. Then, go to My Reference and click on the destination folder and see your exported article. 

 For more information, go to Scopus online Help.

 

Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library