HEDU 5300: Diversity & Health
A course guide for Jackie Farnsworth's class
Ten Scholarly Journals
Search for your population in these peer-reviewed, scholarly journals:
- Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved1900 - present
- Journal of Health Disparities Research and Practice2007 - present
- Journal of the National Medical Association1909 - 2007
- Journal of the National Medical Association2008 - present
- Lancet1823 - Present
- The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)1812 - present
Databases Containing Scholarly Health-Related Articles
Search for your population within these databases. These databases contain articles, some books, and conference materials.
See the "Search Basics" page to learn more about searching tips and tricks. These tips and tricks work for majority of the library's databases.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 5,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index contain full text with no embargo. 1937 to present.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases to inform healthcare decision-making. - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) - Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) - Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) - NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase - another crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data - supported by Emtree - helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Coverage is 1947 to present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUsing this link from off-campus will route your session through our proxy server, and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our resources when available. In order to retrieve full text articles you will need to set your preferences. To do this, go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar Page (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and sel…
- National Bureau of Economic Research This link opens in a new window This database provides access to a collection of papers, working papers, and other information from the National Bureau of Economic Research. Approximately 1000 papers are published each year, and are added to the collection as they become available.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The premier abstracting and indexing database covering the behavioral and social sciences from the authority in psychology. 1800 - present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text. Updated daily. Coverage may go back to 1940s and older. Trouble accessing full text? Click here for a video tutorial on how to sign in using MyNCBI and link Outside Tool to EHSL.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Book Citation Indexes (2005-current), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-current, supports structure searches), Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990-current), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-current), and Index Chemicus (1993-current). For published authors of monographs, please submit your request to be added to Web of Science.
Need help? Contact us
