HEDU 5300: Diversity & Health

Specific chapters on complementary, alternative, & integrative health (CAIH) approaches for the following populations:
African Americans, American Indians & Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanics/Latinos, Native Hawaiians/ Pacific Islanders, etc.

"...[E]xamines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. In a consistent format, ten major health care categories are systematically examined for each country: 1. Emergency Health Services; 2. Costs of Hospitalization; 3. Costs of Drugs; 4. Major Health Issues; 5. Government Role in Health Care; 6. Insurance; 7. Access to Health Care; 8. Health Care Facilities; 9. Health Care Personnel (doctor level of training, etc.); and 10. Public Health Programs. "

Donald A. Barr provides extensive new data about the ways low socioeconomic status, race, and ethnicity interact to create and perpetuate health disparities. Examining the significance of this gulf for the medical community and society at large, Barr offers potential policy- and physician-based solutions for reducing health inequity in the long term.

Includes chapters on the following populations:
Hispanic/Latino, Black Americans,
American Indian & Alaska Native Populations, Asian American, Arab American, and Pacific Islanders.

Updated edition. "The second section of the book moves from the broader subjects to the needs of specific populations, including Native Americans, Latinos, Asians, African American, Middle Eastern, Refugee and LGBQT communities.?

Chapter titles included in Volume 1 are:
Health disparities and immigrants; Health disparities among Latina/os; and Native American medicine: The implications of history and the embodiment of culture. Other chapters discuss Mexican American medicine, curanderismo, yoga, and complementary and alternative medicine.

Chapter titles included in Volume 1 are:
Mental health assessment among ethnic minorities in the United States; Latina/os; Islamic healing approaches....; Health and wellness of sexual and gender minorities; and Suicide across cultures.

Fully updated and expanded, the Second Edition of Multicultural Health serves as a comprehensive guide for healthcare workers in any cultural community. Focusing on differences in cultural beliefs about health and illness, and models for cross-cultural health and communication, this text helps students and professionals learn effective ways to implement health promotion programs and program evaluation across cultures.

"...In this important volume, the work of landmark acculturation theorists and methodologists come together to showcase applied epidemiologic and intervention work on the issues facing acculturation and public health today.Edited by Seth J. Schwartz and Jennifer B. Unger, this Handbook is divided into two important parts for readers. Part one features chapters that are dedicated to theoretical and methodological work on acculturation,[and] including definitional issues,...The second part focuses on the links between acculturation and various health outcomes, such as obesity, physical activity, drug and alcohol abuse, mental health, delinquency, and suicide.Notably, because a majority of the research on acculturation and health has been conducted on Hispanic immigration, this volume contextualizes that research and offers readers compelling insight for how to apply these principles to other immigrant groups in the United States and around the world."

"...Based on Giger and Davidhizer's unique transcultural model, this text helps you design culturally sensitive care with use of the six key aspects of cultural assessment: communication, time, space, social organization, environmental control, and biologic variations. Written by nursing educators Joyce Newman Giger and Linda G. Haddad,... UPDATED! Cultural chapters are completely revised to reflect the shifting experiences of cultural groups in our society."

Sondra Jones traces the metamorphosis of the Ute people from a society of small, interrelated bands of mobile hunter-gatherers to sovereign, dependent nations--modern tribes who run extensive business enterprises and government services. Weaving together the history of all Ute groups--in Colorado, Utah, and New Mexico--the narrative describes their traditional culture, including the many facets that have continued to define them as a people. Jones emphasizes how the Utes adapted over four centuries and details events, conflicts, trade, and social interactions with non-Utes and non-Indians. Neither a portrait of a people frozen in a past time and place nor a tragedy in which vanishing Indians sank into oppressed oblivion, the history of the Ute people is dynamic and evolving. While it includes misfortune, injustice, and struggle, it reveals the adaptability and resilience of an American Indian people.

Honors Thesis
This research project focused on family planning and reproductive health care access among Bhutanese refugees in Salt Lake City, Utah. Four questions guided this study: (1) What contraceptive methods do female Bhutanese refugees use to control fertility/space births? (2) What reproductive health care barriers do these women experience? (3) How do these women navigate their reproductive health care barriers? (4) What recommendations do these women have for improving reproductive health care access?

As a botanist, Robin Wall Kimmerer has been trained to ask questions of nature with the tools of science. As a member of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation, she embraces the notion that plants and animals are our oldest teachers. Drawing on her life as an indigenous scientist, and as a woman, Kimmerer shows how other living beings--asters and goldenrod, strawberries and squash, salamanders, algae, and sweetgrass--offer us gifts and lessons, even if we've forgotten how to hear their voices.

The book discusses the impact of genetics, social determinants of health, the environment, and lifestyle in the burden of cardiometabolic conditions in African American and Hispanic/Latinx populations. It includes fully updated and revised chapters on genetics and CVD risk, epidemiology of cardiovascular health, cardiovascular imaging, dyslipidemias and other emerging risk factors, obesity and metabolic syndrome, heart failure, and genetic variations in CVD. Unique aspects within African American and Hispanic/Latinx populations are explored with suggested appropriate therapeutic interventions. New chapters focus on ASCVD risk assessment, emerging precision medicine concepts, the impact of diabetes, resilience and CVD survival, and lifestyle and dieting considerations. Written by a team of experts, the book examines the degree to which biomedical and scientific literature can clarify the impact of genetic variation and environment on cardiovascular disease.   The Second Edition of Cardiovascular Disease in Racial and Ethnic Minority Populations is an essential resource for physicians, residents, fellows, and medical students in cardiology, internal medicine, family medicine, clinical lipidology, and epidemiology.

This book provides insight into one of the world's quietest human rights abuses. The story of the Lhotsampa people of Bhutan describes their journey of coping and resilience, incorporating qualitative research undertaken in the refugee camps in Nepal and resettlement areas in Australia and elsewhere in the world.

This updated editioin examines" recent developments in health care and policy [of a] steadily increasing population of people of Mexican origin in the United States."

Dawes argues that political determinants of health create the social drivers--including poor environmental conditions, inadequate transportation, unsafe neighborhoods, and lack of healthy food options--that affect all other dynamics of health. By understanding these determinants, their origins, and their impact on the equitable distribution of opportunities and resources, we will be better equipped to develop and implement actionable solutions to close the health gap. A thought-provoking and evocative account that considers both the policies we think of as "health policy" and those that we don't, The Political Determinants of Health provides a novel, multidisciplinary framework for addressing the systemic barriers preventing the United States from becoming the healthiest nation in the world.

After 9 years in a refugee camp in Nepal, Amita remembers very little of her homeland, Bhutan. At two years old, she was forced to flee her country when her family was targeted because of their Nepalese heritage. When the camp becomes an unsafe place for Amita and her family to live, they make the difficult decision to seek a permanent home in a new country. Interspersed with facts about Bhutan and its people, this narrative tells a story common to many refugees fleeing the country. Readers will learn about the conflict there and how they can help refugees in their communities and around the world who are struggling to find permanent homes.

"This pathbreaking book documents the transformation of reproductive practices and politics on Indian reservations from the late nineteenth century to the present, integrating a localized history of childbearing, motherhood, and activism on the Crow Reservation in Montana with an analysis of trends affecting Indigenous women more broadly. As Brianna Theobald illustrates, the federal government and local authorities have long sought to control Indigenous families and women's reproduction, using tactics such as coercive sterilization and removal of Indigenous children into the white foster care system. ...."

"The Routledge Handbook of Indigenous Wellbeing consists of five themes, namely, physical, social and emotional, economic, cultural and spiritual, and subjective wellbeing. It fills a substantial gap in the current literature on the wellbeing of Indigenous people and communities around the world. This handbook sheds new light on understanding Indigenous wellbeing and its determinants, and aids in the development and implementation of more appropriate policies, as better evidence-informed policymaking will lead to better outcomes for Indigenous populations. ..."

This innovative resource offers a unique, multidisciplinary approach for the utilization of planning theory to eliminate health disparities in rural communities. The book provides tools in the public health, policy, and planning disciplines to help resolve significant differences in life expectancy and quality of life in these communities, concluding with a progressive vision for alleviating geographical health disparities on a local, national, and global scale.