HEDU 5300: Diversity & Health
A course guide for Jackie Farnsworth's class
9 Great Starting Points to Learn More About Your Population
Listed below are 9 great starting points (websites & ebooks) for all HEDU 5300 groups.
Government Websites
NOTICE: As of February 2025 some government websites have removed data and reports. Please contact Tallie or Alfred if you cannot find the data/reports that you need.
- Cultural Orientation Resource (CORE) ExchangeSome reports have been updated and there is archived information (2007-2015) on refugee populations from Afghanistan, Bhutan, Bosnia, Burma, Congo, Darfur (region in western Sudan), Hmong, Iraq, Syria, and other areas
- Archived CDC Refugee Health Information**As of June 19, 2024, these refugee profiles no longer exist on the CDC website. We added PDFs of the content to the library's Canvas course that we found using the Internet Archives' Wayback Machine.
- Bhutanese RefugeesArchived report from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) from 2022
- Office of Minority Health
"These profiles provide detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports."
***As of 2/14//2025 these profiles are available at the Office of Minority Health website. We have proactively downloaded PDFs of this content using the Internet Archives' WayBack Machine. These PDFs were added to this page and on the library's HEDU 5300 Canvas course.
Library eBooks
Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America
Publication Date: 2014Has chapters on African Americans, Bosnian Americans, Vietnamese Americans, Sudanese Americans, Tibetan Americans, Navajo (Dine), Iraqi Americans, Syrian Americans, etc.
Textbook for transcultural health care : a population approach: Cultural competence concepts in nursing care by ISBN: 9783030513993Publication Date: 2021Updated and expanded edition of the Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care edited by Larry. D Purnell in 2014.
Health promotion in multicultural populations: A handbook for practioners and students by
".... the Third Edition of Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations offers both students and practitioners an indispensable resource on assessment and implementation guidelines for promoting health and enhancing behaviors that optimize health in any cultural community. Leading experts explore a wide range of topics, including the context of culture, cross-cultural perceptions of health, conceptual approaches to multicultural health promotion, health disparities, and the contributions of multicultural populations. Using the Cultural Assessment Framework (CAF), this proven handbook includes a focus on six specific populations (Hispanic/Latino, African American, American Indian and Alaska Native, Asian American, Pacific Islanders, and Arab Americans)....".
Call Number: RA427.8 .H432 2015ISBN: 9781452276960Publication Date: 2014
Physical activity in diverse populations by
The health benefits associated with regular physical activity are now widely recognized. This book examines how social determinants such as race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation and disability can impact on physical activity and its associated health outcomes. It explores the social, cultural, political and environmental factors that influence engagement in physical activity in a range of diverse populations and presents evidence-based, culturally appropriate strategies for targeting and promoting physical activity participation. Each chapter considers how the social determinants that impact on health are formed by the environments in which people live, work, learn and play. Incorporating a series of original case studies, this book analyzes physical activity behaviors in groups such as: African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans and Native Americans military veterans and physically disabled populations low-income populations rural populations LGBT populations. It also includes a variety of useful features such as key terms, summary points and critical thinking questions, as well as a chapter on international perspectives. Physical Activity in Diverse Populations: Evidence and Practice is vital reading for any course touching on social factors in physical activity behavior.
ISBN: 9781317200826Publication Date: 2017- Guide to culturally competent health care byISBN: 0803639627Publication Date: 2014"The Purnell Model is your guide as you explore 34 different cultures and the issues that you need to be sensitive to...including cultural variations regarding personal space, dietary preferences, communication, symptom management, activities of daily living, and religious and health practices."
Archived Government Reports & Data on Health Disparities
As of February 3, 2025, many government agencies are removing their data and reports from their websites. We downloaded PDFs of their website and some raw data using the Internet Archive's WayBack Machine.
More raw data are available:
- https://archive.org/download/20250128-cdc-datasets - download both data and meta files (meta files provide citation information)
- https://git.lsit.ucsb.edu/publicdata
- https://www.datalumos.org/datalumos/
- https://screening-tools.com/cdc
- https://source.coop/repositories/harvard-lil/gov-data/description
Center for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
- Age-Related Disparities in Cigarette Smoking Among AdultsContact Name: OSHData Support
Category: Survey Data
Tags: tobacco, cigarette smoking, disparities, dashboard, brfss
License: Open Data Commons Attribution License
Source Link: https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/health-equity/disparities-dashboard.html
Healthy People 2020
- Healthy People 2020 Overview of Health DisparitiesContact Name: National Center for Health Statistics
Homepage: https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/healthy_people/hp2020/health-disparities.htm
Suggested Citation: National Center for Health Statistics. Healthy People 2020 Overview of Health Disparities. Data accessed [Last accessed date]. Available from: https://data.cdc.gov/d/fdpm-fddm. - Population Group Estimates Used in the Healthy People 2020 Overview of Health DisparitiesContact Name: National Center for Health Statistics
Homepage: https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/healthy_people/hp2020/health-disparities.htm
Suggested Citation: National Center for Health Statistics. Population Group Estimates used in the Healthy People 2020 Overview of Health Disparities. Data accessed [Last accessed date]. Available from: https://data.cdc.gov/d/jfbs-8cpp.
Office of Minority Health
American Indians / Alaskan Natives Health Profile
- Pathfinder to Resources - American Indians & Alaska NativesThe following pathfinders walk users through some key articles, reports, and resources that touch upon diseases, social determinants of health, racial justice, and other important topics. These resources were selected by the OMH Resource Center’s Knowledge Center team and may be helpful to those who are working to improve the health of racial and ethnic minorities residing in the United States.
Asian American Health Profile
- Pathfinder to Resources - Asian AmericanThe following pathfinders walk users through some key articles, reports, and resources that touch upon diseases, social determinants of health, racial justice, and other important topics. These resources were selected by the OMH Resource Center’s Knowledge Center team and may be helpful to those who are working to improve the health of racial and ethnic minorities residing in the United States.
Black / African American Health Profile
- Pathfinder to Resources - Black / African AmericanThe following pathfinders walk users through some key articles, reports, and resources that touch upon diseases, social determinants of health, racial justice, and other important topics. These resources were selected by the OMH Resource Center’s Knowledge Center team and may be helpful to those who are working to improve the health of racial and ethnic minorities residing in the United States.
Hispanic / Latino Health Profile
- Pathfinder to Resources - Hispanic / LatinoThe following pathfinders walk users through some key articles, reports, and resources that touch upon diseases, social determinants of health, racial justice, and other important topics. These resources were selected by the OMH Resource Center’s Knowledge Center team and may be helpful to those who are working to improve the health of racial and ethnic minorities residing in the United States.
Native Hawaiians / Pacific Islanders Health Profile
- Pathfinder to Resources - Native Hawaiian / Pacific IslanderThe following pathfinders walk users through some key articles, reports, and resources that touch upon diseases, social determinants of health, racial justice, and other important topics. These resources were selected by the OMH Resource Center’s Knowledge Center team and may be helpful to those who are working to improve the health of racial and ethnic minorities residing in the United States.
Health Inequality in the US
Listed below are key reviews & studies about the research on health inequality in the US.
- Health Inequity in the United States: A PrimerBy José J. Escarce, MD, PhD, University of California at Los Angeles
December 2019
- Racism and Health: Evidence and Needed ResearchDavid R. Williams, Jourdyn A. Lawrence, and Brigette A. Davis.
January 2019
Annual Review of Public Health
Healthy People 2030
- Healthy People 2030Healthy People 2030 is an national initiative to improve health & well-being in the US
USearch
Connect from off-campus
Most library resources are available to current University students, faculty and staff from home or other remote locations. Login with your uNID and get easy access to library resources -- article databases, e-journals, and e-books.
Click here:
Visit our help page and drag the "Reload via EZproxy" button to your bookmark bar
OR Download and install VPN software on your machine.
Need help? Contact us
