The CIA World Factbook is a publication of the United States Government that provides data on over 250 countries, including maps and flags, geographic data, population overviews, government data, economic summaries, as well as communication, transportation, military, and transnational issue information. Information on the Factbook's website is updated frequently, and all information contained in the database is in the public domain (as it is a work of the United States Government).
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background mat…
The CQ Researcher publishes reports 44 times a year that offer in-depth single-topic coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is investigated and written by a seasoned journalist. Editors identify the topic to be investigated, then the writer conceives its content, formulating the key questions that it will seek to answer; reads background material; interviews a range of sources; synthesizes available information; and writes the report. The report's writer quotes a range of sources, including lawmakers, academics, interest group representatives, government officials as well as citizens involved in the issue. The report concludes with a bibliography that contains an annotated list of key sources.
Provides access to a number of Political Science titles from Oxford University Press. Please note that access to subjects other than Political Science is not available at this time, and that not every title in Political Science on the website is part of our subscription. Only titles with an unlocked green padlock or a 'free' symbol next to them are included.
This listing provides access to a collection of language and subject reference works which the Marriott Library has purchased through Oxford University Press. The collection is cross-searchable and can also be browsed by title or entry. Users can retrieve over 2 million short and long subject reference entries (many of which are illustrated), bilingual dictionaries, English dictionaries, quotations, and proverbs. Patrons may also sign up for a (free) personal account which will allow searches…
This listing provides access to a collection of language and subject reference works which the Marriott Library has purchased through Oxford University Press. The collection is cross-searchable and can also be browsed by title or entry. Users can retrieve over 2 million short and long subject reference entries (many of which are illustrated), bilingual dictionaries, English dictionaries, quotations, and proverbs. Patrons may also sign up for a (free) personal account which will allow searches and other research information to be saved between sessions.
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on many aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. The collection includes selected full-text records for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports, Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, an…
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on many aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. The collection includes selected full-text records for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports, Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and many others. ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on many aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. The collection includes selected full-text records for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports, Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and many others. Indexing & abstracts Serial Set (1789-present) Congressional Hearings (1824-present) Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications (1789-present) Full text Statutes at Large full text, ensuring access to PDFs of all Public Laws from 1789-present Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations full text
This database provides access to the electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of many international sources. Access World News focuses on local and regional news from Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East. It covers a variety of local and international developments related to industry, politics, economics, science & technology, sports, culture and business.
This database provides access to the electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of many international sources. Access World News focuses on local and regional news from Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East. It covers a variety of local and international developments related to industry, politics, economics, science & technology, sports, culture and business.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection provides full-text access to all content that the Jstor publishes. The majority of the database is archival content, and new issues are added to the collection periodically. New content may not appear in JSTOR until months or years after its initial publication date, and update frequencies for journals vary by title and publisher. Artstor content will be migrated to the Jstor platform. Artstor content can be found at https://www.jstor.org/images.
Military and Intelligence Database provides military personnel with access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. Updated annually, this library resource contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Military and Intelligence Database provides military personnel with access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. Updated annually, this library resource contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
This database provides access to the full text of over 400 scholarly peer reviewed journals by over 100 publishers in the humanities and social sciences.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and patents. The database is updated daily; Scopus contains over 93 million records with over 87 million records since 1970. Scopus indexes over 26,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 7,000 publishers, including over 6,000 open access journals. Scopus also indexes nearly 200 trade publications, nearly 150,000 conferences, and over 300,000 books. Additionally, the database contains over 48 million patent records from US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and UK Intellectual Property Office.
The Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering all areas of social sciences including international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in the War and Terrorism Collection will gain insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in the War and Terrorism Collection will gain insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
Search the world's leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the science, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network. Coverage includes:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (2019 - present)
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg, whose goal is to provide the European Union with statistics that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Their database contains a variety of information, including emissions, employment, demographics, economics, and geographic data for many of the EU's member nations.
This database is composed of survey data from the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) on democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean). Survey results are incorporated into the database as they become available (surveys are conducted every two years), and the collection currently includes the results of over 80,000 interviews in over 25 countries.
The OECD Economic Outlook is produced twice a year and covers major trends and forces that may shape short-term economic prospects. It provides a set of projections for output, employment, prices, fiscal and current account balances, as well as coverage of the economic policy measures which the OECD predicts will foster growth and stable prices in each Member country. This database is used by the OECD's Economics Department in producing the Outlook and contains the information used to make th…
The OECD Economic Outlook is produced twice a year and covers major trends and forces that may shape short-term economic prospects. It provides a set of projections for output, employment, prices, fiscal and current account balances, as well as coverage of the economic policy measures which the OECD predicts will foster growth and stable prices in each Member country. This database is used by the OECD's Economics Department in producing the Outlook and contains the information used to make the projections listed above. The database is updated twice a year after the May and November releases of the OECD Economic Outlook's preliminary editions.
The Global Economic Monitor (GEM) is produced by the World Bank's Prospects Group of the Development Economics Vice-Presidency (DECPG). GEM provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high-income as well as developing countries. Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, indust…
The Global Economic Monitor (GEM) is produced by the World Bank's Prospects Group of the Development Economics Vice-Presidency (DECPG). GEM provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high-income as well as developing countries. Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations.
This database provides access to a collection of sociological and demographic data. The majority of ICPSR data holdings are public-use files with no restrictions on their access. ICPSR provides access to restricted use versions that retain confidential data by imposing stringent requirements for accessing them. The datasets which are available to the University of Utah are included in this collection. Topics covered by this database include criminal justice, health and aging, substance abuse …
This database provides access to a collection of sociological and demographic data. The majority of ICPSR data holdings are public-use files with no restrictions on their access. ICPSR provides access to restricted use versions that retain confidential data by imposing stringent requirements for accessing them. The datasets which are available to the University of Utah are included in this collection. Topics covered by this database include criminal justice, health and aging, substance abuse and mental health, child care, and health and medical care.
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) is a system that allows users to search for and retrieve the full text of UN parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office in Geneva since 1993 as well as at the United Nations Office in Vienna since 1997. Many other divisions of the UN include their official documents in this system, which currently contains over 1 million files in total. Approxima…
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) is a system that allows users to search for and retrieve the full text of UN parliamentary documents (including resolutions and decisions) issued at United Nations Headquarters in New York and the United Nations Office in Geneva since 1993 as well as at the United Nations Office in Vienna since 1997. Many other divisions of the UN include their official documents in this system, which currently contains over 1 million files in total. Approximately 100,000 new documents are added yearly, and older documents are added to the collection on a regular basis.
NOTE: User registration (free) is required for this database.
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand a variety of data, including average household incomes, population density, gender distribution, marital status, occupations, and more.
Using this link from off-campus will route your session through our proxy server, and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our resources when available. In order to retrieve full text articles you will need to set your preferences. To do this, go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar Page (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and sel…
Using this link from off-campus will route your session through our proxy server, and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our resources when available. In order to retrieve full text articles you will need to set your preferences. To do this, go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar Page (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and select the options for the University of Utah which appear below the text field. Hit 'Save' at the bottom right of the page, and you will then be ready to start using Google Scholar.
