Mining Engineering

Scopus is a very large, multidisciplinary database. It indexes over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers. It also indexes over 1,200 open access journals, several hundred conference proceedings, 650 trade publications, 315 book series, and patent records from 5 patent offices. The database is updated daily and includes more than 36 million records. Scopus contains the entire Compendex database from 1970 to present, and it also includes the entire GeoBase database of geography and geology.

The Compendex Archive is the best source for finding articles in mining engineering and other engineering disciplines published between 1884 and 1969. Search Scopus for the 1970 to present Compendex content. The database indexes articles, conference papers and technical reports from over 5,000 international sources. Search the Compendex Archive and the Inspec database simultaneously on Engineering Village.

Georef is an exhaustive index of journal articles, conference papers, maps, books, and federal and state government publications in the geosciences. The database covers North America from 1669 to the present and the world from 1933 to the present, and it contains over 3.2 million records. Some records include maps or images. The "Get It" links will help you obtain the online articles.

Web of Science is a large, multidisciplinary database of important journal articles. This database allows cited reference searching.

Metadex indexes the world's literature on metals and alloys: their properties, development, manufacturing and applications. Begun in 1966, METADEX contains nearly 7.5 million records. There are citations from thousands of journals, conferences, technical reports, patents and dissertations. Approximately 45,000 new records are added per year.

This is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database which indexes journals in many areas of academic study, including engineering and business. Indexing is provided for more than 17,000 journals, and full-text articles are provided for more than 10,000 journals.

NOTE: You must register for a user account to use this database - note that for registration you must use your University of Utah email.


This database is licensed for use only by U of U faculty, students and staff conducting scholarly research. It is not to be used for commercial research. SciFinder provides access to the substance information and chemical literature in CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. Currently the database includes over 16 million journal articles, patents and other documents and more than 24 million substance records in the CAS Chemical Registry database. Please contact CAS at 1-800-753-4227 or Shane Wallace email shane.wallace@utah.edu with any questions regarding registration or access.

Business Source Premier includes the full text for more than 2,000 business journals. Full text is provided for many articles. The database covers all business disciplines, including management, information systems, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Inspec provides access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computing, and production engineering. The database contains over 11 million entries for scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Approximately 600,000 new records are added to the database annually.

This is Google's search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Using this link from off-campus will route your session through the Marriott Library's proxy server and thus ensure that links within Google Scholar work with our subscribed resources. In order to access most full text articles you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences. Go to the upper right hand side of the Google Scholar display (next to sign in) and click on 'Settings'. Click on the 'Library Links' option in the left-hand sidebar, and then type 'University of Utah' in the text field. Hit enter and select the options for the University of Utah which appear below the text field, particulary the one labelled "University of Utah - Get It at UofU." Hit 'Save' at the bottom right of the page, and you will then be ready to start using Google Scholar with the greatest efficiency.

The TRID database provides access to articles, technical reports and other publications related to transportation research. The database is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board. It contains nearly 950,000 abstracts. TRID includes references to technical publications on the engineering of highways, roads, bridges, railroads, marine facilities, and pipelines. It also covers planning, construction, design, environmental issues, and other transportation concepts.

Nexis Uni provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, and reference publications.