ULibraries Research Guides: Mining Engineering: Government Information

State Government Information

Utah State Library Catalog
Utah state government publications can be located using the catalog at the Utah State Library.
Utah State Government Agencies
This site will direct you to most of the agencies and organizations within the Utah State Government.
GovSpot State Government
Find websites for other U.S. states here.

Business and Economics Information from the U.S. Government

United States Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
This database is hosted by the United States Census Bureau and provides access to a variety of U.S. Census datasets, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, annual population estimates, and the Economic Census.

Economic Analysis Bureau
U.S. government Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides the most timely and accurate data on the U.S. economy.
Export.gov
Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning and accomplishing their international sales.
Labor Statistics Bureau
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Staistics is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor markets, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
NIOSH Publications
U.S. National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health publications are accessible through this database.
Labor Statistics Bureau
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Staistics is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor markets, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

International Information from the U.S. Government

CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The CIA World Factbook is a publication of the United States Government that provides data on over 250 countries, including maps and flags, geographic data, population overviews, government data, economic summaries, as well as communication, transportation, military, and transnational issue information. Information on the Factbook's website is updated frequently, and all information contained in the database is in the public domain (as it is a work of the United States Government).

Background Notes
Facts from the U.S. State Department about countries of the world, including the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series from the U.S. Library of Congress presents a description and analysis of countries throughout the world.
Tariff and Trade DataWeb
U.S. International Trade Commission produces this database of U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information. The USITC DataWeb allows both expert and non-expert users to create and save customized country and product lists.
Travelers' Health
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Division of Global Migration and Quarantine provides information, disease surveillance, and best practices, to assist travelers and their health-care providers in deciding the vaccines, medications, and other measures necessary to prevent illness and injury during international travel.

U.S. and State Government Resources

Government publications, databases and websites are a major source of mining engineering information.

Some government publications can be located using Usearch, the University of Utah library catalog. The websites and search tools below will help you locate additional information resources.

Please contact Shane Wallace, the subject specialist for Federal Government information, or Mark England, the Mining Engineering subject specialist if you need further help or suggestions. Their contact information is included in their profile boxes on this page.

Primary and General Sources of U.S. Federal Government Information

USA.gov
USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog for federal publications includes records for historical and current publications and will provide links to those that are available online. You may search by author, agency, title, subject, and keyword.
govinfo
govinfo provides free online access to official digital publications from all three branches of government.
Data.gov
Data.gov will help you locate datasets generated by agencies in the Executive Branch of the U.S. Government.
Geospatial - Data.gov
This is part of Data.gov, and provides access to over 400,000 maps and geospatial datasets from 172 agencies across the U.S. Federal government.
Regulations.gov
Ths is the online source for many U.S. government regulations. You may search for a proposed rule, final rule or Federal Register (FR) notice. You may also submit a comment on a regulation. Note that this site does not contain public laws, legislation, or regulations from state, local, or tribal governments. Search or browse the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) at this site.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches 55 databases and 200 million pages from these U.S. government agencies. For more targeted results, the advanced search allows you to select one or more specific databases. For example, the portal can simultaneously search AGRICOLA, TRIS, DTIC, the NIST Data Gateway, U.S. Patents & Trademarks from 2000 to present, USGS publications and multimedia, the Energy Citations Database, the EPA's NSCEP database, NTIS, TOXLINE, the US Forest Service database TreeSearch, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is replacing Thomas.gov as the portal to federal legislative information. All recent House and Senate information is available through this portal.

ProQuest Congressional and Executive Base This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on many aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. The collection includes selected full-text records for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports, Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, an…
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on many aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. The collection includes selected full-text records for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports, Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and many others. ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on many aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. The collection includes selected full-text records for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports, Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and many others. Indexing & abstracts Serial Set (1789-present) Congressional Hearings (1824-present) Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications (1789-present) Full text Statutes at Large full text, ensuring access to PDFs of all Public Laws from 1789-present Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations full text

Mining, Geosciences, and Environmental Information from the U.S. Government

The U.S. government provides a large number of datbases and websites providing information on minerals, mining information and other technical data.

Bureau of Mines (USBM)
The United States Bureau of Mines was established in 1910 and abolished in 1996. The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) maintains the entire collection of the Bureau's 5,000 publications in the NTRL. Many of the Bureau of Mines technical reports are available in digital form in the Technical Reports Archive and Image Library (TRAIL). Several of the US Bureau of Mines' programs were transferred to the U.S. Geological Survey, the Bureau of Land Management, the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSM), the National Mine Map Repository (NMMR), and the Department of Energy.

United States Geological Survey (USGS)

ToxInfo.io This link opens in a new window
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and environmental health. From NLM, National Library of Medicine.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency portal for obtaining EPA print and digital documents.
National Environmental Methods Index (NEMI)
The Tne U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's NEMI database provides information on analytical, test, and sampling methods for environmental monitoring. The index can be used to compare methods and was developed with funding from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Geological Survey.
Health and Environmental Research Online (HERO) Database
Tne U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's HERO database includes more than 600,000 scientific references and data from peer-reviewed literature used by the EPA to develop its regulations. HERO supports critical agency policymaking for chemical regulation and can be used to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants.
EPA Enforcement and Compliance History Online Database (ECHO)
Tne U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's ECHO website ECHO provides compliance and enforcement information for about 800,000 regulated facilities. The database provides permit, inspection, violation, and enforcement information, and includes water, air, and hazardous waste information, Safe Drinking Water Act data, Toxic Release Inventory data, National Emissions Inventory data, and Water Quality Data.
Envirofacts
Envirofacts is a single point of access to selecedt U.S. Environmental Protection Agency data.
ECOTOX
The Environmental Protection Agency ECOTOX (ECOTOXicology) database provides chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life.
Patent Public Search
Provides access to granted and published applications. Full document text may be searched on U.S. patents issued since 1971 and OCR text from 1920 to 1970. U. S. patent images from 1790 to the present may be retrieved for viewing or printing. Published applications can be searched from 2001-present. Newly granted patents are published every Tuesday.
NIST Data Gateway
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) gateway provides access to the NIST Engineering Statistics Handbook, the NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions, the NIST JANAF Thermochemical Tables, CODATA Fundamental Physical Constants, the NIST Property Data Summaries for Fracture Toughness, NIST Dataplot, the FIZ/NIST Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD), and other information.
EIA Reports
Search or browse publications from the Energy Information Administration. This EIA website provides the Weekly Coal Report, the Quarterly Coal Report, and other publications providing state, national, and international data, such as: production, imports, exports, stocks, consumption, projections, markets, and outlooks.
DOE SciTech Connect Information Bridge
The DOE SciTech Connect site provides access to nearly 300,000 research publications from the U.S. Energy Department (DOE). Documents are mostly from 1991 forward; however, legacy documents are added as they become available in digital formats. This site also includes the Energy Citations Database( ECD), which provides access to over 2 million research publications in energy science and energy technology.
USGS Groundwater Data
The Groundwater database includes information on nearly 850,000 wells, springs, test holes, tunnels, drains, and excavations in the United States.
USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS Publications Warehouse provides access to available documnents includong those in the following series: Bulletins, Circulars, Miscellaneous Field Studies Maps, Open-File Reports, Professional Papers, and Scientific Investigations Reports.
National Geologic Map Database
Locate geoscience maps and data.
Climate Data Online
The National Climatic Data Center Online Document Library is the world's largest active archive of weather data.
United States Geological Survey (USGS)
USGS Mineral Resources
The USGS Mineral Resources site provides access to mineral commodity profiles and summaries, the Minerals Yearbook, mineral industry surveys and indicators, and mineral resources statistical data for countries, commodities, and U.S. states.
USGS Energy Resources site
The USGS Energy Resources site provides information and statistics on coal, oil shale, uranium, and geothermal energy operations.
USGS Statistics on Coal
Geographic Names Information System
GNIS contains information about current and historic geographic features of all types in the United States. The database holds the recognized name of each feature and defines the feature location by state, county, topographic map, and geographic coordinates.
GEOnet Names Server (GNS)
Information about foreign geographic feature names can be obtained from the GEOnet Names Server (GNS).
Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA)
The Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) governs the provisions of the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977 (Mine Act) and oversees compliance with safety and health standards. MSHA is an agency of the Department of Labor.
Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977 (Mine Act)
The MSHA Technical Information Center and Library
The MSHA Technical Information Center and Library maintains a research database of accident reports and provides other useful materials.
Database of Accident Reports - MSHA
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The NTIS is the largest central resource for government-funded research reports in science, technolgy, and engineering. The NTIS has materials originating from U.S. federal agencies; industry and university contractors working with governments and research and development organizations.
The National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
The National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) can provide access to many publications. If the reports and documents you find in the NTIS database are not in your library, NTRL can provide many of the unclassified publicly available resources.