Mining Engineering

This third edition of the SME Mining Engineering Handbook reaffirms its international reputation as "the handbook of choice" for today's practicing mining engineer. It distills the body of knowledge that characterizes mining engineering as a disciplinary field and has subsequently helped to inspire and inform generations of mining professionals.

Engineers are often called on to answer technical questions and solve problems while in the field. It's not always feasible to bring along the bulky reference materials needed to research engineering-related topics. Now there's a simple solution. The SME Mining Reference Handbook is a practical field reference for mining and minerals engineers who spend time away from the office. With its comprehensive store of charts, graphs, tables, equations, and rules of thumb, the handbook is the essential technical reference for mobile mining professionals.

Whether you're involved in surface mine design or production, construction, education, or regulation, this is an important new book for your library. It describes the basic rock slope failure modes and methods of analysis--both kinematic and kinetic techniques. Chapters include geotechnical and geomechanical analysis techniqueshydrologyrock slope stabilization techniquesgeotechnical instrumentation and monitoringNumerous examples, drawings, and photos enhance the text. The book is organized in a logical sequence to help the reader identify the potential failure modes(s), conduct appropriate tests for important geotechnical and geological parameters, analyze the stability of the rock slope, and design an appropriate monitoring system.

The Estimator's Pocket Book is a concise and practical reference covering the main pricing approaches, as well as useful information such as how to process sub-contractor quotations, tender settlement and adjudication.

This Bureau of Mines publication presents a comprehensive review of mine electrical power-system theory and practice. It discusses fundamental theory and the vital aspects to be considered in planning and designing mine electrical power systems. The report is divided into three major sections. The first presents the history of electricity in mining and the fundamentals of electrical phenomena and components. The second focuses on power-system components: motors, grounding systems, cables, and protective equipment and devices. The final section includes mine power-center equipment, switchhouses and substations, batteries, and mine maintenance.

Widely regarded as the most authoritative and comprehensive book in its field, the fourth edition of Fundamentals of Rock Mechanics includes new and substantially updated chapters to this highly praised text. Extensively updated throughout, this new edition contains substantially expanded chapters on poroelasticity, wave propogation, and subsurface stresses. Features entirely new chapters on rock fractures and micromechanical models of rock behaviour. Discusses fundamental concepts such as stress and strain. Offers a thorough introduction to the subject before expertly delving into a fundamental, self-contained discussion of specific topics.

This handbook describes effective methods for the control of mineral dusts in mines and tunnels. It assumes the reader is familiar with mining. The first chapter deals solely with dust control methods, regardless of the application. It is a brief tutorial on mining dust control and will be of help to the reader whose dust control problem does not conveniently fit any of the mining equipment niches described in later chapters.

Accordingly, the Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering devotes its contents to all areas of interest for the practicing engineer as well as for the student at various levels and educational institutions. Authors from all over the world have contributed with their expertise and support the globally working engineer in finding a solution for today‘s mechanical engineering problems.

The Geotechnical Engineering Handbook brings together essential information related to the evaluation of engineering properties of soils, design of foundations such as spread footings, mat foundations, piles, and drilled shafts, and fundamental principles of analyzing the stability of slopes and embankments, retaining walls, and other earth-retaining structures. The Handbook also covers soil dynamics and foundation vibration to analyze the behavior of foundations subjected to cyclic vertical, sliding and rocking excitations, environmental geotechnology, and foundations for railroad beds.

Since 1936, Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals has been the bestselling reference covering the general principles of engineering; today, it's more relevant than ever.With chapters on mathematical principles, physical units and standards as well as the fundamentals of mechanical, aerospace, electrical, chemical, and industrial engineering, this classic reference is more relevant than ever to both practicing engineers and students studying for the FE and PE exams.

The ASM Handbook is a comprehensive guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. Written and reviewed by experts, the volumes in the series provide trusted and in-depth articles, illustrations, graphs, tables, and practical examples on key topics related to the engineering applications of materials.

Summarizes information on wood as an engineering material. Presents properties of wood and wood-based products
of particular concern to the architect and engineer. Includes
discussion of designing with wood and wood-based products along with some pertinent uses.

A reference book for the mechanical engineer, draftsman, toolmaker and machinist.

Geotechnical Engineering Calculations and Rules of Thumb, Second Edition, offers geotechnical, civil and structural engineers a concise, easy-to-understand approach to selecting the right formula and solving even most difficult calculations in geotechnical engineering.

More often than not, it is difficult or even impossible to obtain directly the specific rock parameters of interest using in situ methods. The procedures for measuring most rock properties are also time consuming and expensive. Engineering Properties of Rocks, Second Edition,　explores the use of typical values and/or empirical correlations of similar rocks to determine the specific parameters needed. The book is based on the author's extensive experience and offers a single source of information for the evaluation of rock properties. It systematically describes the classification and characterization of intact rock, rock discontinuities, and rock masses, and presents the various indirect methods for estimating the deformability, strength, and permeability of these components as well as the in situ rock stresses.

The Handbook of Air Pollution Prevention and Control provides a concise overview of the latest technologies for managing industrial air pollution in petrochemical, oil and gas, and allied industries. Detailed material on equipment selection, sizing, and troubleshooting operations is provided along with practical design methodology.

This revised edition presents an engineering design approach to ventilation and air conditioning as part of the comprehensive environmental control of the mine atmosphere. It provides an in-depth look, for practitioners who design and operate mines, into the health and safety aspects of environmental conditions in the underground workplace.