Welcome to the University of Utah's Marriott Library!
As an academic library, this space exists to provide you with resources of all kinds. If you need help researching a topic, making a video for class, a quiet space to study, or just here to check out materials -- the Marriott Library provides all of these services and more.
Security and Information Desk: Library materials can be checked out, renewed, and returned at this service point. Lost & found, guest passes, and access to the Graduate Reading Room is available at this desk. Library Security is the first responder to any situation that may arise in the building.
Gould Auditorium*: The William R. and Erlyn J. Gould Auditorium was named in honor of the Gould family, who also established the annual Gould Lecture on Technology and the Quality of Life. A number of public lectures and other events are held in the auditorium throughout the year.
UOnline Testing Center*: Administers proctored exams to students taking online classes. The center has 108 computer stations including two ADA stations.
Faculty Center*: This center includes the Digital Scholarship Lab, Teaching & Learning Technologies, Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence (CTLE), and Grant Development Services from the Office of Sponsored Projects. This space includes consultation spaces, meeting rooms, usability lab, an audio recording studio, and a video recording studio.
Mom’s Café & Pantry: Mom’s Café was made possible by a generous gift from Ira and Mary Lou Fulton. The café is named in honor of Mr. Fulton’s mother, Myrtle Lee Markwell Fulton, known as Myrtie. In the early part of the 20th century, Myrtie opened a very simple hamburger stand in her front yard in Mesa, Arizona to support herself and her children. Mom’s Café represents the library’s role on campus to support student life, as well as academic study. Mom’s Pantry is open late.
Study Alcoves: These booth-type seating areas provide optimal study spaces for students. They include a number of outlets where students can recharge laptops, cell phones, and other personal electronic devices. Three Study Alcoves have been named by generous gifts from John H. Quinn, Union Pacific, and the Emeritus Librarian Group.
Aziz S. Atiya Middle East Library: This Library is the fifth largest Middle East library in North America and the largest collection of its kind in the Western United States. This collection serves the research needs of the U’s Middle East Center. Circulating materials in this collection are located on Level One and rare items are held in the Special Collections vault on Level Four. The collection was made possible by the late Dr. Aziz S. Atiya, an Egyptian citizen, Middle East scholar, and former resident of Salt Lake City.
Stacks: The Marriott Library holds approximately 3.5 million volumes. Most journals and media are either in the ARC or online, but patrons can still browse the print collection on Levels 1 through 3.
Classrooms: The library has 14 classrooms and 28 meeting rooms, most of which are technology equipped. Classrooms are used for workshops and labs taught by librarians and for classes offered by nearly every college at the University. Food and drink are permitted in our classrooms.
Browsing Collection: In a research library with 3.5 million volumes, recreational reading can be hard to find. This collection narrows the search for patrons—and excludes textbooks! Note the “Womb Chairs” designed by Eero Saarinen in this area (and many other areas throughout the library). With their flat arms that are perfect for balancing a book or laptop, they offer a comfortable place for reading or computing. These chairs and much of the other public furniture in the library were tested and selected by students.
Public Art: Many of the notable and valuable pieces of art that make up the library’s permanent collection have QR codes adjacent to the works. QR codes can be scanned by a mobile device using a QR code reader. When you scan one of these QR codes you’ll be able to view a digital version of the work and additional information about it on your mobile device.
Knowledge Commons: The Knowledge Commons represents the new service model for 21st-century academic libraries. It combines traditional library reference and research services with access to computer hardware, software, and technical support. Friendly and expert librarians and library staff are available at the Knowledge Commons service desk to answer patron questions in-person, over the phone, through email, and via chat—please use our convenient “Ask the Library” services. The Knowledge Commons provides over 250 computer stations and approximately 350 software packages as well as four different types of scanners (high speed, high resolution, sheet-feed, and 3D) and printers (high speed, color, poster, and powder and plastic 3D). This space makes it possible for students to utilize the library’s technology resources, collection materials, and research services in one central location. The Knowledge Commons has a raised floor to allow for easy reconfiguration of computer workstations without expensive renovation of rewiring. This is one example of how the library remains flexible in responding to student needs.
Charging Bar: 12 seats and power outlets to charge laptops and peripherals was made possible by a grant from Rocky Mountain Power.
Small Group Study Rooms: The Knowledge Commons includes small group study rooms designed for collaborative and group use. Many of these rooms are provided on a first-come, first-served basis; with some available for reservation. Food and drink are permitted in these rooms.
Automated Retrieval Center*: The Automated Retrieval Center (ARC) is three-and-a-half stories high and has a 2 million item capacity. Currently, the ARC houses over 1 million items (including over half of the government documents collection, many special collections items, theses and dissertations, media, the original Dewey collection, audio-visual materials, microforms, and bound journals). It takes 10-15 minutes to retrieve items from the ARC. Patrons can request items directly from our online catalog (USearch) and pick them up at the Reserve Desk on Level Two. Items are stored in the ARC by bar code and are organized by size and space available (not by subject or call number). In addition to the ARC’s benefits of improved preservation and access, it also has economic benefits for the library. Storing items in the ARC is four times more cost effective than traditional shelving.
Campus Services: In order to better serve students, the library collaborates with other campus departments. Academic Advising (on Level Two across from the ARC), Student Success and Empowerment Initiative (Level One) and the Writing Center (across from Reserve/Cashier, Level Two) have satellite offices in the library where they can be easily accessible to students.
Katherine W. Dumke Fine Arts & Architecture Library: The Dumke Library includes collection materials for visual arts, music and performing arts, film, and architecture and planning. This space was made possible by a major gift from The Katherine W. and Ezekiel R. Dumke, Jr. Foundation.
Reserve/Cashier (Espresso Book Machine): The Reserve/Cashier Desk is where patrons can pick up materials requested from the Automated Retrieval Center (ARC), faculty course reserves, Interlibrary Loan (ILL), and the pull service. Also at this location are the Espresso Book Machine, which prints out-of-copyright and self-published books in minutes and the Library Store, offering a wide selection of student-oriented products and services. Members of the general public may purchase library permits at this counter.
Gender Neutral Bathroom & Diaper Changing Station: Across from the Reserve/Cashier desk.
Paul Housberg Public Art (Grand Staircase): Artist Paul Housberg was commissioned to design the public art installation for the Grand Staircase. It’s called Another Beautiful Day Has Dawned Upon Us. The colored glass slats include excerpts from pioneer diaries held by the Marriott Library’s Manuscripts Division. The art installation also functions as a ventilation system for the library; in the case of fire, large fans are activated that push smoke from the building, which allows the grand staircase to be used as an emergency egress.
Security and Information Desk: Library materials can be checked out, renewed, and returned at this service point. Library Security is the first responder to any situation that may arise in the building. You can also ask them to walk to your car if you're feeling threatened or unsafe for any reason.
Family Reading Room: This reading room is specifically intended for use by U student parents/guardians accompanied by children under the age of 12. Room includes four desktop computers, Apple TV, and two reservable family study rooms. A lactation room that can accommodate up to four people and child-sized furniture, books, a train set, learning activity toys, a whiteboard are available.
Juvenile Collection: Located just outside the Family Reading Room. These books may be checked out at the Security Desks on Level 1 and Level 3.
The Atrium: The Atrium was part of the design of the 1968 building and is intended to serve as our students’ living room. Furniture in the atrium is meant to be functional and comfortable. Our architectural team attempted to preserve the 1960s interior design of the original building.
Suikang Zhao Public Art: Rainbow Wisdom (installed in The Atrium) is the sculpture commissioned by the Utah Arts Council and created by artist Suikang Zhao. The medium is acrylic and stainless steel. Native American text is embedded in a variety of languages to convey the artist’s view that this piece is universal:
The soul would have no rainbow if the eye had no tears
When you die, you will be spoken of as those in the sky, like the stars.
We are from Mother Earth and we are going back to Mother Earth,
To touch the earth is to have harmony with nature.
The book sculptures found throughout the interior and exterior of the library is entitled as a whole Knowledge Exile; it is also created by Suikang Zhao installation located. Pieces are created from bronze, resin, glass, stone, and mixed media. Some are replicas of rare books in the library’s collection.
White Boards, Privacy Walls, and the Active Desk: Movable furniture creates personalized study spaces. The Active Desk is a recumbent bike that provides physical activity under an adjustable desk. This desk was invented at the University by James C. Martin, a Professor in Exercise & Sport Science.
The George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Grand Reading Room: The George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Grand Reading Room provides traditional quiet space for study and reflection. All of the custom-made tables within this room are wired for electronic devices. The room opens onto the Rooftop Garden. The Grand Reading Room offers a stunning view of the Oquirrh Mountains and demonstrates the success of renovation in bringing natural light and the surrounding landscape into the building. Prior to renovation, the building was encased in wide concrete slabs, which let in little light and concealed exterior views. The Grand Reading Room was made possible by a major gift from the George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Foundation, the largest family foundation in the state of Utah and one of the most generous donors to The University of Utah.
The Malby Globes: Located in the Grand Reading Room, the Malby Globes were manufactured in England by John Addison and Malby & Co. between the years 1845 and 1851. Besides the pair in the library, only six other globes of this type are known to exist (three in the United States, three in England). This pair was purchased in England by Franklin D. Richards, an apostle of the LDS Church, and brought to Utah where they were paraded through the streets of Salt Lake City by oxcart. The globes were one of the earliest gifts to the University of Utah. After many years of heavy use, they were refurbished by the Marriott Library in 2009.
Rooftop Garden*: The Grand Reading Room opens onto the Rooftop Garden, which is not a publicly accessible space. The Rooftop Garden provides a protective membrane over the Automated Retrieval Center and brings greenery to Level Three. The Rooftop Garden was made possible by a major gift from an anonymous donor.
Renovation Donor Wall: The cost of renovation—$79 million in total—was funded by the State of Utah ($49 million), private contributors ($20 million), The University of Utah ($7 million), and the Federal Emergency Management Administration ($3 million). The Marriott Library created a donor wall to recognize private donors to the renovation.
Marriott Family Tribute Plaque: In 1969, the University Library was named in honor of J. Willard Marriott, Sr., who contributed $1 million for library collections. J. Willard and his wife, Alice Sheets Marriott, were both alumni of the University. This plaque honors the longstanding generosity of the Marriott family, which has helped build world-class library facilities and collections at the U.
Special Collections Gallery: The Special Collections Gallery features rare and unique library collections, showcases Book Arts Program student work and Red Butte Press fine press productions, and hosts special exhibitions by local and national partners.
Book Arts Studio and Red Butte Press*: The library’s Book Arts Program is a highly successful education and outreach program that serves K-12 students, educators, university students, and academic researchers. The Book Arts Program promotes an appreciation of the art and history of the handmade book by offering presentations, classes, workshops, intensives, lectures, exhibitions, and community service. Students learn how to print and bind their own books using traditional and modern techniques. The Book Arts Studio houses teaching space, as well as the Red Butte Press, which produces limited run, fine press books. A recent example of the work of the Red Butte Press is a Wallace Stegner fine press book, To A Young Writer, created to commemorate the 2009 anniversary of what would have been Stegner’s 100th birthday.
Marriner S. Eccles Library of Political Economy*: This room houses the Marriner S. Eccles Library of Political Economy and includes scholarly books and manuscripts on banking, political, and economic history, highlighting the late Mr. Eccles’s career as a banker and chairman of the Federal Reserve System’s Board of Governors. The physical space and collection materials were made possible by a gift from the Marriner S. Eccles Foundation.
Tanner Alcove: This quiet study nook was created to honor a major gift from the O.C. Tanner Company. The generous gift from the O.C. Tanner Company named our Western Americana collection after Annie Clark Tanner, mother of Obert Tanner, businessman and scholar.
George S. Eccles Special Collections Reading Room: Our Special Collections Department collects, preserves, and provides access to rare and one-of-a-kind primary source materials. Special Collections includes University Archives and Records Management, the Manuscripts Division, the Middle East Library, Multimedia Archives, Rare Books, and Western Americana. Examples of items held by Special Collections include the papers of Wallace Stegner, the Arabic Paper, Parchment, and Papyrus Collection (which is the largest of its kind in North America), original diaries of Utah pioneers and leaders of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and centuries-old illuminated manuscripts. Researchers who come to the library to interact with these items, do so in the Special Collections Reading Room.
The University of Utah Press: In 2005, The University of Utah Press became a department of the library. The Press publishes and disseminates scholarly books in selected fields, as well as other printed and recorded materials of significance to Utah, the region, the country, and the world.
Administration Suite: Housed in the Administration Suite are most members of library’s Executive Council and departments including Human Resources and External Relations.
Gender Neutral Bathroom & Diaper Changing Station: Next to the Administration Suite.
Portrait of J. Willard Marriott, Sr.: This portrait of J. Willard Marriott, Sr. was painted by Alvin Gittens, who served as chair of The University of Utah’s Art Department from 1956 until 1962. Gittins' work includes portraits of 89 administrators, professors, and benefactors of the U. His portraits hang in almost every campus building.
Portrait of Calvin W. Rawlings: Another piece by Alvin Gittens, this portrait honors a U alumnus who served as an officer in World War I and was active in civic and public affairs for over 70 years.
IT Services*: The Marriott Library’s online presence has become increasingly important in providing access to collections and services. The library’s Digital Technologies Division hosts more than 100 unique digital collections containing photographs, maps, books, audio recordings, and other items. These collections are freely accessible via the Web to a global audience.
Preservation*: The Marriott Library boasts the most sophisticated conservation laboratory within the state and provides outreach, disaster response, preservation education, and some conservation services to institutions within the region.
Services & Resources
These are some resources which you may be unaware of and find useful. For a complete list, click here!
Once you've selected a topic for your class, use these databases to locate information for your research paper or project (some of the ones I recommended below may already be familiar to you, if you attended SLCC). However, these are general databases; know that there are databases both specific to your major and searchable by type of media.
Also, don't be afraid to try out different databases with the same keywords (databases are competitors, so they won't necessarily have the same information), and always look beyond the first page of results.
- Search for articles by author, title, keyword, or subject headings (tags).
- Limit results using the date of publication, name of publisher, or Boolean phrases [e.g. AND (both terms are searched together), OR (either term is searched), and NOT (excludes the following term)].
Once you've found an article (using the databases listed above), use these tools to help cite your sources correctly. Citing properly, reduces the risk of unintentional plagiarism.