United States Government Information: Programs, Collections and Available Services

A basic guide to government information research at the Marrriott Library.

Depository Library Programs and Collections

U.S. Federal Documents

The J. Willard Marriott Library has been a depository for publications from the United States Government since 1893. This collection of government publications is particularly strong in the areas of census data, legislative materials, compilations of government statistics in areas of business and labor, mining, geological and earth sciences, technical reports, Department of Energy publications, and international relations.

State of Utah Documents

The Marriott Library is a Utah State Depository Library. The State Library Division is charged with administering the depository system for publications issued by state agencies to fifteen depository libraries around the state.  Utah state publications are housed in Special Collections.

International Documents

The Marriott Library has been a United Nations depository since 1968. Publications include UN "masthead" documents (the working papers of the bodies of the UN, from the General Assembly to Ad Hoc committees), monographs, and serials.

The Marriott Library has been a depository for Commission of the European Communities materials since 1973, and we currently receive most of the published European Union materials.

Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks and Copyright

The Marriott Library is one of 84 U.S. Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRCs) in the country, and the only PTRC in Utah.  Due to our depository library agreement with the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office since 1984, the Marriott Library receives full-text copies of patents with complete specifications, claims, and drawings soon after they are granted by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.  Our collection includes complete U.S. patents on microfilm and optical disks from 1790, and all federal trademarks that are registered or pending.  Our government documents collection contains additional indexes and finding aids for both patents and trademarks.

Services We Offer

  • Reference services to help you find and use materials published by government offices and agencies. Librarians on staff are research experts who can help you use online and historical government information, government statistical data, patents, trademarks and international documents. Contact us to ask a question or schedule a research consultation.

  • Workshops on how to use  government sources such as Thomas (legislative information), American Factfinder (demographic information from the U.S. Census), or the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office search engines.  Click here for a complete list of Marriott Library workshops.

  • Classroom instruction on how to use government research sources. Contact us to schedule a library session for your class.

  • Acquisition of government publications and related materials that support the mission of the Marriott Library. Contact us to suggest a purchase.

 

Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) News

The Marriott Library is a Selective member of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).

Loading
Marriott Library Eccles Library Quinney Law Library